Does lightening strike twice???

Does anyone ever remember asking that?  It would be a rare and strange occurrence if it did.  But for a mom in Ireland, it really did strike twice.  Losing one child is sad enough but losing two children in a short time frame of two months is so utterly devastating and incomprehensible.  When I woke up this morning and read about it in a Tweet I got this morning, I was shocked and saddened at the same time.  I can only express my sincere condolecences to the family of Erin and Shannon.  I know how hard it is to lose one child but not two.  I am hoping that one day soon I can connect with the parents of these two girls.  On the same note, I would like to reach out to the family of Jessica L who passed away on the weekend.  I have to say also that I get disgusted when the media (not our media) posts the means of death.  Now why is that newsworthy.  If a child dies, a child dies.  There is no gain in telling anyone the means unless they are friends and that is what is decided..

I never thought I would say this and be so happy about it … I am tired.  I don’t think I can finish this blog post even though I have lots to say.  Sleep first, write later.

Good night friends,

Carol xoxo

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Does lightening strike twice???

  1. Tristan says:

    This is a good read Carol, im liking your new blog site as well. At first i was scared that i wouldnt get to see your blogs as often, but im liking this new site. Some sorry to hear about the family of Erin and Shannon, as rare as these things happen, its got to be some hard to try to figure out a meaning or to come to terms with all of this. Some sad to hear of Jessica’s passing as well, this just goes to show that bullying is still at the forefront ,of severe and serious issues and problems within our society today and that it needs to be taken off the back burner and addressed.and taken more seriously. I totally agree with what you said about the media posting the means of death,, totally unnecessary for the public to know, which gives everyone something to gossip about and then comes along the judging. Its nobody’s damn business of how one died or what the cause of death was, its a very personal and private matter for the family and thats what should be taken into consideration first.

    Like

  2. Paul Klarich says:

    HI Carol-Just found your new blog.Super idea,keeping the lines of communication open.You write very well.Amanda sure has a way of travelling around the Globe,doesn’t she?.Glad to hear that families are extending there support for you and your’s.I will talk to you again soon.Bye for now,”Paul from the Pier”.

    Like

Leave a Reply

