The sad life of attention seekers…

Here is the latest post on that Facebook site.  The people there believe that I am the imposter.  Give me a fricken break!!  That isn’t my site ….

Screen Shot 2012-12-30 at 12.15.37 AM

I often wonder why people do this.  Last night at the ‘wee’ hours of the morning, I came across an article last night about a woman that has arrested for pretending to be the aunt of one of the children from the Newtown tragedy and saying that she needed funds.  That is just sad and bad at the same time.  Funny enough, when I finally got myself out of my cozy bed this morning, my Facebook message box was filled with messages about someone impersonating me on a Facebook page with the name Carol Todd (which of course isn’t my site).  The site has my name, my picture of Amanda and I and to make it all the more interesting, this person is posting and writing back to others with responses of Amanda being her daughter, and she misses her, etc.   Like really… GET A FRICKIN’ LIFE!!!  (Those of you who know me well know that if I could, I would be using more colourful expetives in my writing.

Let’s work together to get rid of these people who are attention seekers.

(Imposter account of Carol Todd) – https://www.facebook.com/carol.todd.39948

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The sad life of attention seekers…

  1. jag72 says:

    Glad to know it is removed . 🙂

    Like

  2. Tristan says:

    another status update by the impersonator, and i am still continuing my work on getting some of them people aware of this deception. here is the latest post:::: People are still going off that in not really Amanda’s mother and that really breaks my heart to hear that because I raised Amanda, and I love her so much more then anything it’s terrible losing a daughter , I don’t get why some people would want to impersonate me and her best friend we are already having a hard enough time!

    Like

    • Dennis Vu says:

      Ill try my best to message the others, I alread disfriended her and be sure to let others know. What got me suspicious was the very bland way she talked to me over messages I expected Carol to be more colorful, inspiring, and nuturing than that, and this blog confirmed my suspiscions.

      Like

      • Dennis Vu says:

        Furthermore I believe that person is the same person as “Alyssa White” that post on that page, the imposter told me that she was Amandas friend who found her, and was depressed and was considering suicide, out of the goodness of my heart, I decide to friend request her and tried to talk to her, she constantly post about how she misses her best friend amanda. I see the impost comment on Alyssas post pretending to be you and comforting her, and I always see her comment on those blurry pics that the imposter puts up saying how she’s sad and misses her best friend.

        Like

  3. Tara says:

    Hopefully with everyone reporting the fake account it will be taken down soon.

    Like

  4. Christine Connelly says:

    Wow that is truly horrible. That, along with a few other points, is the down side to social media. I just simply do not understand some people. I have to wonder what they get out of doing stuff like that – what is the payoff for them.

    Like

  5. Dave Chambers says:

    This is what the fake account posted recently

    “Someone made a fake account of me on Facebook just to get attention I would appreciate it if you just ignore this person it really upsets me that someone would do that do me and Amanda I was just putting it out there”.

    Like

  6. Dennis Vu says:

    I was wondering why those pictures on that account were so blurry and that the post didnt make sense, i started to get suspicious tonight, glad you confirmed my suspicions

    Like

    • Tristan says:

      Dear Dennis,, was wondering if you could help us get the message out to some of the people on the Fake account that it is indeed a fake. That fake account has 216 friends, that believe they are speaking to the Real Carol, and we need them to know that they are speaking to someone unknown, copy and paste this blog along with your message to give them some proof that they are indeed friends with an imposter. Lets act swiftly and effectively people, Just by blocking and reporting her will make it hard for us to reach her followers that believe its the Real Carol. Lets put an end to this immature nonsense..

      Like

  7. Dennis Vu says:

    Wow i actually was friends with that one, thanks for the heads up

    Like

  8. Tristan says:

    im working on sending a few messages out to the friends of that fake account to give them a ‘heads up’ that its indeed a fake profile. Just would want to stop them from pouring there heart out to someone else that they believe is the “real” you. And yeah seriously , they definitely need to get a real life, but im sure we will get this account taken down, now that we are all aware of it. ~ Tristan

    Like

    • It is a heartless thing to do – to steal the online identity of a grieving mother – or anyone’s identity for that matter. This is one instance where Facebook is likely to react rather swiftly since now Carol has actually filed a report. Many social media sites reserve the right to report an impostor to the actual impersonated person. This is to avoid ‘nuisance reports.’ Facebook is a little more generous in its procedures and allows a few more reporting options.

      This is a part of online life. Not an acceptable part at all, but it happens. It is similar to annoying crank phone calls. It’s difficult to stay calm, because it is such a violation. However we tend to be more useful and targeted in our actions when we stay calm.

      Tristan, Notifying the deceived Facebook friends of this impostor is an extremely kind thing to do.
      I remember the last Facebook impostor that Carol had. That one disappeared pretty swiftly, but had actually managed to deceive several people who have become genuine connections to Carol now.

      Not nice at all, but it can be dealt with. And best of all not to dignify online trolls with too much emotion. Cyberbullying 101: Do not feed the Troll!

      Like

  9. Christine Taylor says:

    wow that is scary Carol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

