Post for December 31, 2012 (New Years Eve)

New Year’s Eve 2012 @ Whistler BC.  
 
Here I am in Whistler in an expensive hotel and I can’t get onto my blog to write my last post for 2012.  So here it is and I will transfer it when I get home even though it will have the wrong date.  
 
Well, it’s been an interesting final 3 months of 2012.  In my wildest dreams, I never thought I would be having to think of my daughter’s life in the past tense or even be defending her and myself on the internet with trolls, evil thinking people that I know and don’t know and even the thoughts of people that I do know.  On the flip side, I have been blessed with re-connecting with old friends and meeting so many new ones. I really didn’t know or understand the power of friendship until the evening of October 10th.  So many people have come across my path and have done so much for me and my family.  I can’t even begin to explain or describe.  And even after 12 weeks, the sincerity – caring – kindness continues to happen.  Today in Whistler, I met with a mom that I had been trying to connect with for weeks over the telephone.  Coincidentally (or not) my phone rang and it was her calling for someone else.  She just happens to live in Whistler.  So we made a coffee date and talked.  It was another connection that was meant to be.  It is those connections that make me continue to think that Amanda has made this all happen.  
 
As much as I miss her so much, there are often times that I think sometimes that God had another purpose for her (and I).  Amanda’s death has certainly made a mark in the world (and I mean all over).  I have had links sent to me all today and if you look at my FB or Twitter (@c_todd) you will see that she is usually sitting in the #1 position as Newsmaker of 2012.  Gillian Shaw wrote a great article.  I am on the front page of the Maple Ridge Times in todays edition.  The Huff Post had a good article as did the National Post.  I don’t even know how many more papers across Canada had similar articles.  If you see one, post it on  FB and link me.  
 
For 2013, I wish everyone good health and good love.  I will continue to look after my family and do what I feel is right in keeping Amanda’s legacy moving forward.  To Amanda’s friends, please don’t forget her and help in the journey of Amanda’s Snowflake Journey.  You will continue to learn and grow from everything that she has experienced and what we have learned from her.  It is amazing that Amanda continues to make us learn even though she is not here.  
 
The power of the internet is so strong.  To know that the imposter who set up a FB with my name was taken down somehow (whether through pressure or by Facebook).  If Facebook did it, it would be nice to know by an email or Facebook message. No matter, the Snowflake Elves army went to work from all over the world and got the momentum going.  I so wish I could list each and every thing that everyone has done for me, but I would be here forever and I would be afraid to forget someone.
 
Needless to say, I do love you all.   I want everyone to have a great New Years and raise your glass to Amanda!!
 
Thank you Princess Snowflake for being a great kid and a good friend.  You will always be in our hearts and in our memories (for a very long time).
 
Stay Strong and Be Stronger!!
 
Love you all,
Princess Snowflake mommy (aka Momma Bear)  xoxo
About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post for December 31, 2012 (New Years Eve)

  1. la Punisher says:

    To Amanda: You are in our hearts lil angel, We love you and you will always be remembered.

    Like

  2. Rob says:

    To Amanda,
    You Will Never Be Forgotten.
    You Made Such A Huge Impact.
    You Are Loved.

    Like

Leave a Reply

