Jan 8th – An Unbelievable Day …

542259_10151240173778208_1408101984_nThe one big fear over the two week Christmas/New Years holiday was that the world might forget about Amanda Todd.  I am not quite sure that happened.  Actually, I am positive that it did not happen.  If anything, more support sprung up.  Sure, not many people comment on my blogs.  I have the same trustful followers who write their comments.  Do they write it because they want to or to give me an energy boost?  Either way, it’s nice to know they are being read by others.  Each day, I probably get at least 6 new followers on Twitter.  I get about 3 new Facebook messages per week from people I don’t know. The latest is from France and then one from Switzerland.

I met Jesse Miller today  @mediatedreality on Twitter.  He works on keeping kids safe while they are on the internet and using social media.  I will be attending his sessions next week to listen to his talk to parents and then to a class of kids.  I am looking forward to it.  I know that Amanda had seen Jesse speak and she came home to tell me what the discussion was about.  But for Amanda, the damage of the on-line predator had already been done.  What Jesse’s talk did was to reiterate to Amanda (and her friends) what they needed to ‘not’ do on the internet.  Did they listen?  As a parent, I could only hope so.  Jesse and I talked for close to 3 hours plus.  It certainly didn’t seem like that long.  I was supposed to text someone else for lunch but didn’t get there.  Glad that other person is understanding.  During lunch, Jesse told me a story.   There is this Indie song artist named Amanda Palmer.  Amanda is a singer.  She made a song video and used cue cards in September/early October.  She didn’t know about my Amanda. Actually, according to Amanda Palmer’s blog, it wasn’t until January 5 (when she tried to Google her own name) that she came across Amanda Todd.  I have to wonder how many people HAVE NOT heard about my Amanda.  So I went to Amanda Palmer’s blog via her website.  She asked for feedback and stories to help her with a project.  She got close to 700 posts.  I only read the first one and it flooded my mind with memories.  Some good, some sad. Never bad.  Read the first post.  It was written by a young lady who was bullied in school.  The other young person who tormented her ended up taking his life.  How this young person described how she felt is very much similar to how Amanda’s friends felt or even feel today.  In the paragraph, the young girl talks about the lessons she has learned, including how NOT to treat people.  Way to go!!  Lessons and rules are hard to come by.  But at the end, we must ….

I am sad because… the snowflakes are no longer falling on my blog.  I guessed WordPress turned them off.  However, a friend sent me this link to look at ‘real snowflakes’ that were put under a special microscope.  Look at them and list your favourite ones…

Arggg… I have so much to do.  Yes, I get easily distracted.  Tomorrow is a definite ‘try to stay home’ type of day.  I have to catch up on my house, technology (or else I might get nagged to death) and catching up to my PVR.

To my new virtual friends on social media – I hope that you have come to join the Snowflake Army and keep spreading the positive messages that Amanda would have liked.  Keep reading. Keep smiling.

To my children – I will always love you, whether I am awake or trying to sleep.

Love Mom xoxo

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jan 8th – An Unbelievable Day …

  1. merle says:

    Oh my, I have to view this site everyday Carol, to see how you are doing. I don’t expect anything from you than what you offer, which is your true self. But I feel as if I know you and Amanda because of your blogs…and I need that…because Amanda and her story have affected me deeply. Your stories about your daughter and yourself are a very personal part of your life that you willingly share with others who care…and you don’t even have to! You CHOOSE to share your happy memories, your sadness, and your quest for a peaceful soul with others, as opposed to “turning inside yourself” with a heavy heart. I don’t pretend to know how that’s done, however I see it as a measure of the kind of person you are and “to share” helps to heal. I do not mean that you could actually ever heal from this, but a metamorphosis is in the making, and it will take time…but you will KNOW when it’s complete… I’m sure of that. Amanda is not only by your side in all you do, but within you…giving you courage and understanding everyday. I will always be here as one of your “virtual” friends.

    Like

  2. Sue Hindle says:

    I read your blog and follow you on twitter., I will never forget Amanda either. and neither will the world I have two snowflakes hanging in my place.

    Like

  3. Hamsi says:

    I read your blog every day even though I do not comment. It is difficult to forget Amanda. Even now, when I am at a mall and I see a group of young kids having a good time I think: This is all she wanted, to be a nomal teenager, and society could not muster up the magnaminity to cut this little girl a bit of slack.

    You cannot be a parent (especially a mom) and not be profoundly affected by this story for the rest of your life…..and this community of concerned people is only growing.

    Like

  4. Christine Connelly says:

    Honestly, I do not for one minute think the world will forget Amanda. She touched far too many lives for that to happen. My heart broke seeing that video she made and I cried buckets of tears – as I’m quite sure others did as well. Carol you are an amazing women with tons of strength – even though you may not feel that way at times. Keep on doing what you are doing because we are all here behind you in support!

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      To Christine: You are so right about everything you just said, The world won’t forget, Too many of us has had their heart broken and I still get wet eyes when I read certain material I love that little girl and always will…. Yes, Carol is a strong lady and doing excellent work for her daughter…And will always have my support.

      Like

  5. Renee says:

    The world will not forget Amanda…you have more followers than comments just know that 😉 I often read but don’t comment and I’m sure many are the same. She will be in our hearts forever and your work will keep her spirit alive and strong!

    Like

  6. Aww Carol we will never forget amanda! she is the icon for the antibully world. Maybe they updated the site here and that’s why the snowflakes aren’t falling, sometimes on websites I have had in the past, the java updates mess them up so if you can redo the background it might work, sometimes you have to reset things. hugssss

    Like

  7. Dennis Vu says:

    As for the snowflakes, see if you can get a gif background

    Like

  8. allison says:

    The world will never forget Amanda, her story impacted so many and her message so true and memorable.I remember the first thing I did christmas day was open my curtains, look out the window for snow,shut my eyes and said Merry Christmas with a moment of silence and a silent wish for her. ❤

    Like

  9. la Punisher says:

    My honest belief, The world will never forget Amanda, She made to big of an impact, And beside that… We all STILL Love Amanda…And we are all still here to keep her memory alive and we shall not fail.

    Like

  10. Dennis Vu says:

    I comment because it helps give me closure, and I read to remember Amanda, I will never forget her.

    Like

  11. Thank-you for helping me during my difficult time. Now it’s time for some self care and catch up. xoxo

    Like

Leave a Reply

