Jan13/14th – Lost in the sea of media … (the oars help to guide me)

I can’t believe the number of articles that have either been written about Amanda Todd and/or her You Tube video.  And then again, all the articles that are being written now in 2013 referencing her death. It is almost a full time job (like my night job when it is dark and quiet in the outside world but when the virtual world is still very much awake) to read and get these articles posted and shared.  Here is one that was written in the Province a couple of days ago about Amanda Palmer blogging about Amanda Todd.

I myself don’t have all the time or energy to find them all.  They come at me through friends who find them randomly or look them up.  It is quite interesting to me to find the ones that were written shortly after Amanda’s  death. Back then, I was in no shape to read or watch anything.  I still do find it hard to watch but I am okay with reading.

Along with reading articles ‘on Amanda’, I am very much interested in reading articles related to young people in general and the topics of what Amanda experienced,  Through reading and talking with other parents, I am finding that there is a need and a concern to talk with the parents of our pre-teens who are venturing into the hallways of teenagehood without perhaps the proper battle gear.  The cyberworld is very vast and is a place that needs some education and learning on both the parts of the participant (the kid) and the caregiver (the parent/guardian/teacher/etc.)  This is when the following saying works ‘a little knowledge will go a long ways’.  I as a parent have had the wonderful opportunity of meeting so many people near and far to talk about their kids or the kids they want to reach out to.  I have to say that I usually don’t go finding them, they or with the help of someone else, find me.  Yes, there are the times where I might disagree with an article and then I do email the reporter or newspaper and ask for a change or supply a comment.   I have also used the media to help track down interesting people that I would like to further a discussion with.  Fortunately, I have been successful about 90% of the time.

Talking to other parents who have either experienced what I have been going through or something similar has been beneficial for me.  It makes me feel like I am not on my boat alone (sometimes I do feel like it sank).  I do have so many analogies that I could apply but I won’t.  What keeps me afloat the most is that I know I have people who care so much about me in my worlds.  If I were to hold up a printed card right now, it would read: “I am not alone but sometimes I need to be alone to collect my thoughts”.

Thank you for reading my words for yet another time.

Love and hugs to all …. xoxo

Screen Shot 2012-12-26 at 1.30.29 AM

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jan13/14th – Lost in the sea of media … (the oars help to guide me)

  1. Sue Hindle says:

    I agree with Merle YOU are Amanda’s brightest star. She had tremendous strength and so do you. I am so glad the attention to her story has not died down..

    Like

  2. merle says:

    Quite simply Carol, YOU are Amanda’s brightest star…as you continue to shine so brightly for her!

    Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    That precious lil girl to this day is still touching new people around the world
    with her video and breaking hearts and opening eyes.
    Almost impossible to read a story on Bullying without her name being in it
    definitely The “NEW ICON” for Anti-Bulling Movement, Thanx to Carol for all her hard work…
    Never had any hero’s before But.. I Now have 2…”Carol and Amanda”… God Bless

    Like

    • Tristan says:

      Just love your comment @ la Punisher, and i completely agree. Both Amanda and Carol have given me a new perspective on how i view everything, as well as how i treat others and act in society. Ive always been a nice guy, but i have that extra drive within me to reach out and be more caring and considerate and want to demonstrate more random acts of kindness for others. Help people, send positive messages and encourage others to be the best that they can be.

      Like

      • la Punisher says:

        Ur on the right track dude…Keep it up.
        Without Amanda… You would still be the ole hum drum you …hehehe
        Just gotta Love that lil girl… forever of coarse

        Like

  4. Rob says:

    Recently, I did go back to Amanda’s video,
    I was intrested in the comments of the young people.
    These are recent comments.
    One young person wrote: ” I cried for 6 hours”.
    Another young person wrote: Heartbreaking song, Be My Friend.
    This young person was referring to the 2’nd song Amanda played in her video
    Breathe Me, By Sia.
    Amanda is still touching peoples Hearts every minuite of the day,
    young people throughout this World.

    Like

  5. Dennis Vu says:

    Like I told you, although its sad to realize that she is gone, its brings me relief to see how one person can make such a huge effect on the world. Now I’m already over the high school hump, and the damage has already been done, however is true, I was not ready to face those tough. Years of school. And I’m glad to help others so that they won’t have to experience what I or Amanda did.

    Like

Leave a Reply

