Jan 15 – Too many bullies ….

As I sit here and think about what to write, I know that it is 2 a.m. in the morning.  I have spent the past few hours reading messages and talking virtually with others (adults and kids) who have been fragile, self harmed and suffer from depression, anxiety and more.  All the stories are very similar. But the people involved don’t know each other and live miles apart.  It boggles the mind how rampant a problem this is and how powerless we are sometimes to help.  Since Amanda’s death, many stories have been brought to my attention.  Some with small details. Some with absolutely horrific huge details.  It makes me want to cry when I read how some young persons are being treated these days by there peers.  And as we always are quick to jump at the parenting, it is not always so.  Peer pressure is so strong these days.  Kids want to fit it. They want to belong.  So if they don’t play the game, they get laughed at.

Being young or rather – acting young – can be so stupid sometimes.  What isn’t known is that it can be the event that crushes a person into a world of sadness, depression, anxiety and self harm.  My words of advice to anyone reading this and experiencing extreme sadness and thoughts, please go talk to someone you trust right away.  They will help and guide you.  Amanda’s words of advice were always to go talk to someone.  I wished she would have followed what she told her many friends.  Many still miss her terribly.  I know I do….

On a happier note, I love the pictures that I am getting from the Pink Snowflake shirts.  I have been sending them out on my own.  I think it’s important to get the message out to the messengers that are sprinkled all over the world.

Hugz to all my Snowflake Elves…xoxo

IF

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jan 15 – Too many bullies ….

  1. la Punisher says:

    If it wasn’t for Amanda opening eyes I think it would be there but hidden, It was always there… I just didn’t care enough to take the time to understand just how bad it really is. (how selfish of me) But NOW… My eyes are open… Thank you Amanda, I will fight in your army forever. To this day I am told that there is still hatred on facebook against this little angel, Let it be known at the end of this month (January) I am going back onto facebook with a vengeance, Hacking into these websites and destroying them, BECAUSE FACEBOOK WON’T DO IT.
    I will show “NO MERCY” … Down with Bullying

    Like

  2. merle says:

    Christine, that is a good idea…nothing like “leading by example”!

    Like

  3. merle says:

    Dear Carol, I think what I want to tell you belongs in the “magical moments” section, however I couldn’t find it. Alot of my magical moments (epiphanies) have come at the lowest times in my life when I least expected it. I don’t know if this qualifies as one, but for me it was. Last night I was working on a homework assignment with my ten-year old grandson Joey. ( I should add struggling to get him to do it). The assignment was to write three paragraphs with the first one stating, “I Have A Dream” (Martin Luther King-civil rights leader as we celebrate his birthday this month). Joey didn’t have a clue obout how to arrange it, so I decided to call his friend and classmate, Kelly who lives across the street from us. She is very intelligent and a good student, so I knew she could guide us how to do it correctly. She told me it had to be about a dreams for community, world, family etc. She gave me an example she used as her first one. Her dream is to end bullying in schools! Mind you she is ten-years old, but very aware. I felt the strangest feeling within me (maybe “warm fuzzies”)? I asked her why she picked that for her dream and she told me that they had presentations in class and assembly regarding bullying. (Don’t wonder why my grandson didn’t speak of it, he’s just a typical boy who wants to play 24/7). Kelly told me how much she cares about other kids that are picked on, and she wants to help put a stop to it. I really believe Amanda’s spirit is manifesting herself through others…and randomly so, as I am on the east coast of the U.S.A. I told Kelly she and I could talk more about her ideas anytime, and I will be ordering my pink Princess Snowflake shirt, along with one for her! The “magical moment” in this for me is how Amanda appears to answer our thoughts through others….and give hope to THIS cause. After reading your blog about your doubts as to how all the hard work you and others have put into this…and if it can really make a difference…just let your daughter’s spirit guide you…you’ll know what to do. I am very honoured to be so stirred by Amanda’s spirit! Once again I apologize if I said anything that could upset you, I try to be very careful with my words.

    Like

  4. The bullying problem is really something else. And the bullied think they are the only one going through it too. It’s not just kids, look at workplaces, the govt, it’s everywhere and people accept it! Not me, I won’t ever accept it, it’s not appropriate and if people have to act like mean pushy jerks then they will be the ones in trouble and reported. I put up with alot as a kid, we were poor, I was bullied, there were even times I wished I was dead. But I grew up and I grew strong, very strong, to the point I have a very big mouth and quick temper and no tolerance for BS. The thing is others don’t think they can get through what is happening. Maybe we need to have antibully courses where the survivors teach the bullied what to do and how to handle it, and they can see real people who made it through and are successful in the world today.

    Like

  5. Dennis Vu says:

    The problem is everywhwere, it has to do with todays society and how judgemental it is, it isn’t really easy to talk to someone about it, its hard to trust people and open up… sometimes parents can be a critic…

    Like

Leave a Reply

