Day 7 after October 10th (for Amanda)

Day 7 – I think I need to start a blog to chronicle my life to let others know how this loss has affected our family. After the dust has settled and I have memorialized my daughter, then I will start this new project. For now, I am still in awe and admiration and appreciation of my wonderful friends, colleagues and community. My village has come to my rescue and this time of need. The shock of Amanda’s death has lessened with the soft fuzzy feelings that there are so many people out there (young, middle and older) who have come to visit and pay their respects. My house is full of fragrant flowers. My fridge is full. Friends have brought over many wonderful liquid beverages (red and white). I want to once again say ‘Thank you from the bottom of my heart’. I am sure that if we could all hear Amanda, you would be able to hear her say ‘Thank you for taking care of my mom and brother’. Love and hugs to everyone. (Oct 17, 2012) “Donations towards the Amanda Todd Trust Fund will be accepted at any RBC Royal Bank Canada. There will be an online option posted later today. Monies donated will be held in trust for the following: Youth/Adolescent Mental Health, Anti-bullying education and resources, Scholarships for students with learning challenges wishing to pursue voice/singing and/or technology supports.”

 

 

Update for Day 7 – It is so interesting how the media wants to so desperately report their news and beat the other stations to the punch. I have been inundated with media calls to the point where I have made my friends my phone assistants. We have even had a call from the producers of Inside Edition and one from a Japan network. Not that I don’t love to watch TV or watch current events. I now have a totally different perspective. My feelings are as such … I have always been a private on the quiet side kind of person (although I do like to sit with my friends and chatter over those fav red and white liquids). But other than that, my family life is private and I want to keep it that way. No one seems to understand that the story of our daughter is already out in the media around the ‘whole wide world’. I know people have questions like … Where were here parents? Why wasn’t she in sports or activities to keep her busy? Why didn’t she know any internet safety tips? Jeez … if they only knew the answers like me and all of our friends who knew us. Saying that, I still don’t want our faces or our lives plastered on TV. I don’t want the press camped out on my doorstep? I don’t want my neighbourhood or my life invaded? Is that a fair statement??? Give me your thoughts but only if it is constructive (and possibly what I want to hear :P). Love you all xoxoxo…. Carol (Mommy to Princess Snowflake)”

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Day 7 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. Alexis says:

    When I heard about amanda todd it broke my heart. I am so sorry for your loss amanda was beautiful and I was bullied in middle school and I know how she felt. I hope you are doing well and are healing it breaks my heart that you loss your daughter.

    Like

  2. Will Burke says:

    I so agree with Carol where the media wants to beat the other guy to the story and answers,it makes you wonder do they ever stop and think about how someone is feelin that has just lost their child to a horrible incident.I think not it’s like they only care about writting a story and sometimes they don’t even get their facts straight they just full steam straight ahead write whatever they want no matter who they hurt in the process.Carol you are a very strong women at this sad time much love for you.

    Like

  3. Tristan says:

    These words really were some raw, and moving, i remember reading them back a while ago, but just going back over them again, really shows just how powerful and strong they were, you can really sense and feel the emotion reading this.

    Like

  4. Rob says:

    Carol,
    You need Your Own Private Time Now To Mourn Amanda.
    You have done such amazing work with all your efforts.
    Memorial, Snowflake Walk, Ect, Ect.
    About those media questions they want to ask, You Answered them Already.
    Amanda was in sports, cheerleading, singing, ect, ect.
    In my opinion, this is the last thing you need.
    You have the people that Love and Support You and Amanda right here.
    You don’t want your life invaded by the media, and have to answer questions
    that you have already answered.
    You are doing an Amazing Job!!
    I would politely tell the media, let me be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

