Day 8 after October 10th (for Amanda)

Day 8 – My rant for October 18

(**Note for Jan 21, 2013 –  I don’t tend to re-read what I write when I am writing)

Today was such a rollercoaster ride for me. Our family got invited to WE Day and we could bring some guests. You cannot imagine how sensational the day was.

Seing Desmond Tutu. I met Molly B. who was bullied and tormened by others during her middle school years. The real treat was Demi Lovato. Saying that, she was Amanda’s hero and role model. So there I was sitting in a provided suite at Roger’s Arena watching WE Day from above. I hope that Amanda was perched on my shoullders. (I am finally sleepy and need to take advantage of this. I will finish my post tomorrow and am falling asleep typing this.) Hugz to you all…

Another point of view from somewhere in the world – ‘I’m seeing a lot of posts of people wondering why we are talking about Amanda Todd so much when there are so many other problems in the world. Here are my thoughts on that:

You are correct, there are many, many issues in the world. People are starving, people are suffering. There are more Global Issues than we even know about I’m sure. it is all tragic.

So here’s what I suggest… don’t worry so much about the attention we are giving to Amanda Todd, and focus your efforts on helping the cause of your choice.

Pick a cause, any cause, and stand up and do something for that cause. Help in whatever way you can. I try and help as much as possible, with many charities, because I truly care.

I choose to stand up for Amanda Todd because she is part of our city, our country, and I know in my heart of hearts that we CAN make a difference. I choose to stand up for Amanda Todd because I too have a child and I want my son to grow up in a better, more loving society. I choose to stand up for Amanda Todd because I have a voice and I won’t be bullied.

This is my cause of choice and I am not going to stop.

Say what you want, but I will not be deterred.

Think back to a time when you felt bullied… wouldn’t you want someone to stand up for you? We all have the ability to stand up for that kid (or adult) who is being bullied, and with enough awareness I truly believe next time, maybe, just maybe, someone will have the courage to stand up for the next kid who feels like they are alone in this world.

Pick a cause and do your part. We could all use a little more positivity in this world.

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 8 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. Andria Drica says:

    Eu decidi estar com Amanda Todd ..e Carol e com todos os problemas de meu pais Brasil ..eu decidi me dar um pouco de cada causa ..porque Deus é meu guia .

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      Translation for Andria Drica:…
      I decided to be with Amanda and Carol Todd .. and with all the problems of my country Brazil .. I decided to take a little of each because .. because God is my guide.

      Like

  2. Dennis Vu says:

    Every little bit helps, one gesture of kindness can save someones life, there are many problems in the world, but each one has someone doing their part to adress the problem. And doing something is better than doing nothing and wonering what went wrong

    Like

Leave a Reply

