Day 19 after October 10 (for Amanda)

Day 19 (October 29) – I am so amazed at all the insomniacs at night that are FB’ing and Tweeting alongside me. I know that we all lead busy and hectic lives but I also know that the technoogy keeps our brains active and far beyond the way we should treat our bodies, as in — ‘GO TO SLEEP’. So this is the lecture we give our kids starting at 11 pm … Go to bed. Turn off the technology. Then we repeat the message every hour until we pass out. I talked to a friend on the weekend who told me their house rule, that all technology gets charged in the kitchen at night, not in the bedrooms under any circumstances. I think that is a great rule. It worked in my house with Amanda for the laptop. Never the phone. And then there was the iTouch before the phone. Hmmm… maybe we should have lived in rural Antartica with the polar bears. Would that have helped? So how do we teach the kids? How do we teach the parents? Where to start? Who makes the rules? If only it could work. I guess that would mean that I need to go bed now and turn off my brain. Shh… don’t look at the time. 
P.S, – I just realized that I have FB messages from people other than my friends. Some are wonderful and span the globe. Some are written in another language and I will have to Google Translate them. Others are just plain old sick. The comments and questions are sad and disgusting. If this is what our kids have to endure, no wonder we have a bunch of messed up kids. So after reading this rant/rave, post ideas on how we can make a change. Sweet dreamz all….”

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 19 after October 10 (for Amanda)

  1. jimmyhalley4 says:

    I think awareness is key,not just from the point of view of the victim,but the bullies also,im sure if they knew what they say and do REALLY does to ppl,and how it can effect someone,then im convinced most would refrain from doing such things in the future.that is what I like to believe anyhow,I have to believe its not a lost cause.but I wonder how many ppl that tormented Amanda are now backing her snowflake campaign out of sheer guilt??? I can only hope these “people” learn a lesson,and pass that lesson on to there own children when the time comes,hopefully then there children will not have to suffer the torment that THEY put Amanda through and make the world a better place for us all.as ever,carol,,Amanda,,your are in our thoughts.:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

