Day 23 after October 10th (for Amanda)

Day 23 (November 2) – This is my rant for today. I have been reading about kids that appear sad and depressed about their life circumstances and then go to the edge. My inner thoughts are ‘NO, you can’t. You have family that loves you’.

Then I have heard the question asked, ‘Have you talked to your parents?’ And the answer is usually ‘No’. That is when I have to scratch my head and wonder why.

Coming from a relationship with my daughter which she told me 90% of what was going on in her life. The lost 10% were thinks she knew I would disagree with. I was unconditional. I didn’t overreact or underreact in front of her.

The ability to do this came from many hours of counselling and it worked. My daughter and I were the closest we had ever been during the final year of her short life. My words of wisdom to kids and parents would be to ‘forge and work at a relationship where understanding is present’. We all make mistakes (young and old) and we all learn from them. It is through communication and discussion that are the building blocks towards a comfortable and trusting relationship. Lots of times, it happens between kids are in their 20’s before they understand their parents.

Let’s work at bringing this age down. 

To all those out their in cyberworld helping to make the world a better place right now by eradicating bullying.



Sleep well my angels… xoxo

Image

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 23 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. jag72 says:

    I advise all children say that they discussed on the internet.
    Even if that person is me

    Like

  2. merle says:

    There is always about 10% left unsaid by our teens when sharing with us. That’s about the best any parent will ever get…unless we delude ourselves. I learned to communicate with my teens by saying less, listening more and remembering “how” I was. It still wasn’t enough…the secrets were still there although eventually they told me things I never knew in the first place. There is always about 10% left unsaid by our teens when sharing with us. That’s about the best any parent will ever get…unless we delude ourselves. I learned to communicate with my teens by saying less, listening more and remembering “how” I was at their age. It still wasn’t enough…the secrets were still there although eventually they told me things I never knew in the first place.

    The average teenager still has all the faults his parents outgrew. ~Author Unknown

    Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    That Teddy sure has Amanda written all over it…
    Amanda’s dream continues to grow bigger and brighter everywhere
    We Love You, Amanda

    Like

Leave a Reply

