February 2 – Another one of those days …

Happy Groundhog Day!!  Now what is the story … if the groundhog sees his/her shadow, then???  I can never remember.  I bet the people who know are the ones who have birthdays on Feb 2.  

I wonder how I can make my life uneventful?  Or will there ever be an uneventful day.  The day started as such.  Remember that Rob came out of the hospital yesterday.  Good patient.  Could walk around.  He woke up this morning feeling the shtz.  Feverish.  Nauseous.  Dizzy.  Light headed.  So he phoned the doctor’s office and they said .. go to the nearest ER.  So we did.  Luckily we got there before the rush or else it would have taken 8 hours longer.  As it was, we were there for 4 hours.  In between that, my washer and dryer were being delivered.  Somehow I knew the timing would be off and sure enough it was.  Left Rob in the hospital and went home to receive my new appliances.  

All that went well.  I paid to get my old ones moved out and to also get them hooked up.  Since my BBBB (Bionic Big Baby Boy) is not functioning these days and I need to do laundry, Trail Appliances did it for me (for a minimal cost).  The guys were great.  Mac and Bobby.  I think they knew who I was (aka Amanda Todd’s mom).  I ended giving them bracelets before they left.  Both guys (who I had never met before today) wanted to give me hugs.  They were sorry about Amanda’s story.  They were sad that it happened.  Everyone has their own story (including these two persons).  I don’t think Mac knew at first where he was but when he found out, he came back to my door and asked for a hug.  It was so sweet.  We then talked about the way he had been bullied in a previous job.  Not good.  Why does it happen?  Don’t people know that it damages others for a long time.  Sometimes forever.  Mac is very happy where he works now.  He described his company as very family oriented as well as kind and caring.  He loves going to work every day now. Family christmas party for kids and then a separate one for adults.   I love hearing about stories like that.  I also love that people are sharing  their stories.  I ended up giving both persons more bracelets to hand out to their families.  So proud to be Amanda’s mom….

In the evening, between cooking, picking up prescriptions, etc… I went down to the skating arena to see some kids.   It was a good time.  Met and talked to lots of girls and even the odd boy.  I hope that all those girls had a good night and stayed out of trouble.  I wonder who else did what the boy did and got honked at for.  I love talking to kids that want to talk to me.  I am not sure what they see other than ‘That’s Amanda Todd’s mom’.  But that is not what they think.   I am glad that they still reach out to me.  Imagine being invited out to somewhere they are going to be.  Doesn’t happen very often.

I am starting to fall alseep typing.   I can hear most of you saying right now, GO TO BED!!  I will. Just have to finish.

I have to order more bracelets.  3000 vs 4000.  Hard one to figure out.  But I didn’t expect the second box to go soon.  

I wonder what tomorrow will bring.  Oh right … the movie Bully is being shown anywhere.  I am there to watch the movie, listen to the speakers and then lead the walk to the Olympic torch site.  Hope there are many people attending.

Gotta run. Gotta sleep. Hugz …

PS – I love you xoox

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to February 2 – Another one of those days …

  1. la Punisher says:

    Another great Blog, I love reading everyone you write
    Don’t know what my hang up would be if you decided to quit writing, You are a fantastic mother to be able to do what you do for your lovely daughter, I wish you well in everything you encounter and do on this new path of life that you were forced on… Fast recovery to Rob

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    “So proud to be Amanda’s mom…” Sometimes out of all the writing comes one set of words that stands out….we KNOW you are Carol, you show us in everything you do…and you should be!

    Like

    • Tristan says:

      I couldnt agree with you more merle48, that line probably stood out the most for me as well. Another very good blog, im also just wowed at how fast them bracelets went! dident they just come in? Im also looking forward to seeing that Bully movie,, sounds like a “must see!” Glad you got your new appliances in, thats quite the story to go with them too. Wishing Rob a fast recovery, hope all went well with everything!

      Like

  3. As you say “everyone has their story.” I believe bullying thrives in environments where nobody takes time to listen to the other’s story. Essentially environments where we are just being asked to function & not make a fuss. Before a bullying incident is noticed by people in authority there are usually month of ugly undercurrents and tension.
    It happens everywhere & it awful when it follows people into adult life to their work.
    It’s good to share. Just someone saying: That’s not alright really helps, doesn’t it.

    Sorry for poor Rob. Hope it wasn’t a serious infection. See if I can make it downtown tomorrow.

    Like

  4. jimmyhalley4 says:

    Hi carol,just watched bully,makes you think!!!
    Anyhow im glad rob is ok,operations make me cringe,take care carol,:-)

    Like

  5. Markus says:

    Came back for a hug. That’s really sweet.
    I love to read your thoughts and experiences, you share with us.
    You can be proud of raising such a wonderful person like Amanda. But I hope you are also a little bit proud of yourself.
    What you did and still do is amazing.
    You are bright light in this world.
    Thank you for that.
    And my best wishes to BBBB.
    Sleep well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

