Day 24 and 25 after October 10th (for Amanda)

Day 24 (November 3) – How to use my iPad effectively? I am so glad I have one to use and I am certainly using it 100% in my daily research and correspondence related to my Princess Snowflake. There are glitchy things like have to close an app to open another, but having the quick response of a device and the portability is perfect for me right now. This gets me to wondering about the technology that our teenagers use today. Yes, I have guilty of being on my iDevices 24/7 (minus the 4 hours that I am able to sleep) for the past 3 1/2 weeks. My friends are in awe of the countless pings, texts, emails and phone calls I am getting. Thanks to Telus Mobility helping me out with my phone plan, life is easier. Having access to the people who have cared about me has been wonderful. I have reconnected with friends from the past and I have made new connections via the internet. Yes, I have been careful with my new connections. The difference between me and the teenagers is that I have 35 years on them and past experiences. I have been watching some of the postings of Amanda’s friends and it’s scary to see what they post, what they say and how others respond. Maybe what needs to be taught is the definition of ‘private’ vs ‘public’. I know I had similar discussions and experiences with Amanda and I got the ‘head nods’ and the ‘yes mom’ and also ‘the looks’. She heard it but it never really sunk in until it was too late. I worry about this generation of teens. I wish we could ask them all how and why they do what they do. Maybe it would be the start of the teaching point …. Have a great sleep everyone!! I get an extra hour to stay awake. Love you all…. xoxo”

 

Day 25 (November 3) – Tired and sleepy at a decent time. Was an exciting but draining day. But got a chance to share at the Mommy Bloggers Conference. People I met today were amazing. Gillian wrote another wonderful article http://blogs.vancouversun.com/2012/11/04/amanda-todds-mother-carol-talks-to-mommy-bloggers/

Oops .. Hit the post button by accident. Thanks Adam H for your thoughtful words today. The song makes me cry every time I hear it. I am really going to slerp now. No rants of raves tonight. Sweet dreamz to all my friends … Xoxo”

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 24 and 25 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. merle48 says:

    “I wish we could ask them all how and why they do what they do. Maybe it would be the start of the teaching point ..” I think the answers would vary as much as the days in a year on that one. What stays the same is the fact that we were all that age once, and we have to honestly ask ourselves if we would behave as such? Well in my day there was no technology like today, so how can I really know? I think young minds are just so more impressionable and fragile in many instances, and technology is such a powerful, influential tool. But it’s like a hammer…it can be used to build a house, or used to destroy a house. There will always be cruel people who get their laughs at the expense of another. Technology has only added to the ways it is done! Much behavior of a person, especially a child, is dependent upon the parents and the morals they instill. There is a breakdown of common courtesy,respect, empathy, and compassion for others in general. Sure there are many angels out there, but certainly not enough as we observe the iniquities done to others every day. I think there will be answers to your questions, with input from many people…some adults and many teens. Yes, the more I think about it…that is a good start for a “teaching point.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

