Day 27 after October 10th (for Amanda)

Day 27 (November 8) – Just a quick rant or rave. I have to be at a breakfast function related to my daughter at 8 a.m. This may seem like a rather normal time to some of you but with my sleep patterns all messed up, 8 a.m. is way too early. But then again, it’s for Amanda. That seems to be the same words that I used for both my kids year after year after they were born (both of them). I remember the endless nights feeding them, changing diapers, fevers, coughs, bad dreams, etc. Then there was Gymboree, swim lessons, soccer, hockey, gymnastics, art classes, music lessons and the list goes on and on. Did I ever feel resently that I did that for my kids? NOT AT ALL. That’s why I signed up to be a parent. I went to almost everything I could possibly attend so that I could cheer my kids on. Let it be known that I was not one of those ‘screamer moms’ that you sometimes see at the sporting events. I just quietly cheered my kids on and they knew it. My favs were always – ‘Did you see me score a goal mom? Didn’t I swim really fast? Did you see me do that tumble?’ and I could honestly say ‘Yes, I did’ (unless of course I was in the bathroom – which is another type of story). Parenting has had it’s ups and downs but you soon realize that as your kids get older, the sports and activities become lesser. And you miss them.

I often grumbled about spending all days at swim meets and cheer competitions and hockey tournaments. But then when there aren’t any, you miss it. So those of you with younger children than mine, embrace the times when you are watching them. Take pictures and video (even with your phone). Have them available for your kids to see. The visuals are what we talk about. They shouldn’t be stored in a computer.

If I could do one thing different, it would be to make photo albums to share. But alas with technology, you can make digital ones and get them printed out. The $$ spent on the memories of the presnet is ‘priceless’.

Love to you all …. me xoxo (I wonder if I can sleep now???)”

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 27 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. la Punisher says:

    Yes, I remember those daz also, They came and went, Some of the memories still alive, We done for our kids what needed doing an maybe more…
    Carol… You showed your children love, That was the main thing, It over rules everything else.

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    Yes, I remember those days of countless activities too…running from one sport to another for 3 kids. I always felt rushed until I got there, and then I got so into the game and how they played, and I always knew then that I would miss it as I do now! Boy, do I ever remember those “screamer moms!” There was one at my daughter’s game one year…I swear if I could visualize her scream…her voice box would be hanging on the outside! All I could say in my head was, “Wow……” Our memories
    are one of our prize possessions, aren’t they?

    Your words made me think of a beautiful song by Helen Reddy, “You and Me Against the World.” I will add it to the “Songs for Amanda” page.

    Like

  3. Tristan says:

    I remember reading this one, when you had originally posted it and that line about making photo albums had always stuck with me. New technology is great and all , but it does take away from what we used to have to hold onto precious memories. So many devices these days to snap pics (or what used to be called, pictures or photographs) now its usually just shortened to pics. But its so true how everything just gets locked up in the hard drive and almost forgotten about until one day you stumble across some pics and think to yourself, “I forgot about these”. I have thousands of pics uploaded on my computer of family and vacations and everything, taken with different digital cameras and all this high tech stuff. But they just don’t seem to compare or measure up to the ones that we would take 15 years ago with them disposable camera’s and run them down to the store and wait so many hours to get them developed. Then there was the excitement of receiving all the pictures at once in a ‘whole ‘ and going through them and taking notice of all the little details in each one. Then making a photo album with them which in time becomes priceless! My apologies if i may have went a little too off topic on this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

