February 11 – Rainbows and butterflies…

I guess with all the snow in the east and the rain in the west, there was no time for rainbows this weekend.  I saw the news that there was also a tornado in Missouri today.  Gotta love the weather systems out there right now.  However today in Vancouver, it was sunny.  And warm.  Hoodie weather.  Rain is forecast for tomorrow.

I spent a couple of hours in Walmart today in PoCo.  They are nearing the end of their 2 week Amanda Todd Legacy fund blitz with selling the AT/Stay Strong bracelets.  Today there was a table set up for AT Legacy fund and stuffies were available for sale.  It was absolutely amazing. Rainbows and butterflies are words to describe the feelings.  While I was there, a gentleman came up to me to tell me how sorry he was about Amanda’s death.  He also went on to say that he feels so sorry for bullying kids when he was younger.  And now that he has young children, he is working to teach them right and wrong.  I commend this person for admitting his errs when he was younger.  It takes a lot of courage.  I hope he works at ‘Making a Difference’.  Another thing I noticed today was all the ‘men’ who wouldn’t wear a pink bracelet.  It’s funny … we are working towards something that reduces bullying and harassment.  Individuality.  And there is still the feeling that men can’t wear pink.  Sad.

There are still so many wonderful things going on in support of Amanda.  Today was the 4 month mark.  I kept myself busy and pre-occupied.  I find that once the actual day is over, I am fine.  I had pics sent to me which I posted on my FB of candles burning.   They were so lovely.  The snowflake design is almost there.  Just tweaking it abit.  Not sure if shirts will be ready by the February 23 fundraising event though.  Here’s hoping…

I have to get down to writing my Words of Wisdom or the Story for the students I will be speaking to this coming week.  I have 1/2 of it done.  Now have to work on the other half.  I have to wonder how it will be.  I have always spoken to adults and now to be talking to kids.  Crossing my fingers …

I have so lost track of all my emails.  Getting responses out to the right people at the right time is getting harder.  I don’t really like it to be longer than a couple of days but then I just get tired and want it to disappear for awhile.  Now I know why people are all suggesting a holiday (with no internet).  It would just clear the head.  I would be afraid that I would sleep through the holiday if I was that relaxed. Although warmer weather, sandy beaches, drinks with umbrellas.  That does appeal to me.

What will I do tomorrow? Or rather later this morning.  I think brunch with a girlfriend.  I know that many are already starting their day.  A friend from New Brunswick is already on his way to work.  Hmm… I guess I need to go to bed.

I do still have to do some research on Snowball trees.  We did start it but not sure what happened to it.  I also have to get rolling on the memorial bench I want to have put up for Amanda.  I guess she wouldn’t want to her that her mom had to buy a new washer and dryer instead.  NOT!!

I love this time of night where it is completely quiet and dark.  My fireplace is on.  I have a candle burning.  And I hear no noises except the flames and my fridge.

Time to say ‘Go to bed!!’.   xoxo

Here are some great places to read if you have some time:

Amanda Palmer’s blog post on Amanda Todd – Snowflakes (January 9, 2013)

Princess Snowflake Tumblr – articles, You Tube videos, music, pictures, etc.

IMG_1623IMG_1622

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to February 11 – Rainbows and butterflies…

  1. Paul K says:

    Yes,it is true Carol.Some men have a fear of wearing pink bracelets.Especially older men.Almost a taboo.But if they are aware of the message,they carry it in their chests,not on their wrists.Another fine picture and post today.Both were warm and reflective……

    Like

    • My heart goes out to you CArol but please know that your daughter did NOT due in vain! Please always keep that fresh in your mind!! She has started a revolution around the world! That was her purpose here on earth.its so unfortunate that you have to feel this horrible loss!!! It’s really unfair and my thoughts are always with you! I can only imagine what you guys have been through! It’s truly appalling and something needs to change the government and police need to get involved !! With the advent of the computer awful things are happening in the world no one is protected unfortunately! Things need to change ASAP! I am sending you my love!! I pray you find peace in your heart ..time heals xoxo ❤

      Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬●ஜ

    .♥♥ (¯*•๑۩۞۩:♥ HUGS TO YOU ~ CAROL ♥ :۩۞۩๑•*¯)♥♥.

    Like

  3. Tristan says:

    Wonderful to hear about all that is happening at Walmart earlier today (or yesterday). Its good to know that you have kept yourself pre occupied and busy, especially on a day like today. I think its good that you keep yourself busy on these days, A vacation for you would be a great idea, keep an eye out for some deals for packages that would take you off to a nice hot white sandy resort somewhere. A great way to clear the mind and truly have some relaxing time. (don’t forget to “NOT” pack your computer and leave it behind!). From what i seen the new design looks like it is coming along really well for the shirts :). Also just loved the Amanda Palmer blog, her interview on there is really good too. The comments are quite interesting, i enjoy reading those just as much as the blog itself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

