Day 31 after October 10th (for Amanda)

One month + one day = Day 31 (November 11)

Interesting enough, I got a call from CKNW reminding me that it had been one month since ‘the date of Amanda’s death’. As if I didn’t already know that but anyways … I didn’t call them back. Too busy or too tired or too drained.

I think last week was one of my hardest weeks. Planning and organizing the Celebration. I know there will be lots of people there to pay their respects and who weren’t part of the the first service which was for family and close friends. I thought that the COL/BD (Celebration of LIfe/Bday) would be easy for me as we already had gone through the first one. Now I am not so sure. The theatre seats 1000 people.  How many people will come?  I have no clue. I also don’t want it to become a media circus as we are still very much into protecting those that we love the most.  So you might ask, then don’t tell the media. Truthfully, it is really kind of hard.

Amanda put herself out there at the beginning of September and now all this is just a fall out from it. I am not saying that in a bad or negative way. Just that with Amanda putting her story out there in life, she has also put herself out there in death. If Amanda only knew the big ‘stir’ she has caused, she would be amazed and stunned. I only hope that she and her other friend in heaven are both watching down on us and talking together about what is happening together.

Back to CKNW – there is a small article about what the reporter wanted to discuss. Her questions on my voicemail included – How have things changed in terms of anti-bullying in the schools? I can say that it is all in progress. There are lots of initiatives underway. There were also students interviewed in a school in Maple Ridge. Those students had a different opinion. I will post the interview.

I tired myself out today looking at Christmas lights in Canadian Tire. But have to love the new colours I saw – pink and purple LEDs. So my house will be blue and white. The tree out front will be pink, purple and white. So will my neighbours house across the street. And one of bestie friends went to the States today to pick up some snowflake icicles.  If you have your Christmas lights up by November 27 (Amanda’s bday), please turn them on and post a pic on Facebook or send a pic to my email and I will post it on my Facebook for everyone to see.  

For those who don’t know, every year since Amanda was old enough to realize, it was a family tradition to get the lights up and turned on for her real birthday. Thanks to my neighbours and neighbourhood for working on this.

I LOVE YOU ALL. ~ tired and sad Mom xoxo

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 31 after October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. H.I.D. says:

    My Christmas lights were on for Amanda on Nov 27 (Amanda’s Birthday)
    I looked around, I wasn’t the only one.

    Like

Leave a Reply

