February 23, 2013 – In the happy place …

I woke up this morning.  Was supposed to do something work related.  I heard the rain.  Turned off the alarm and went back to sleep.  The headache was duller and it was a good excuse to not go out for a bit.

Went to HW Secondary and there were 4 wonderful teenagers there who spent half their PRO-D day helping me to make a video interview for the New Brunswick School Board to show their students on Pink Shirt Day.  I had 11 questions to answer and we used an interview format.  It took 3 1/2 hours to tape for a 20 minute segment.  Wow…. Hope we said the right things and in the right way.  I am so honoured to have met these teenagers.  They were so helpful and caring and definitely are the kind that show deep caring, respect and caring for others.  It is with youth like these that we can continue to spread positive messages like the one that Amanda wanted to share – “If you see that someone is being bullied, don’t be afraid to tell the bully to stop doing what they are doing. Make sure to tell them that it’s wrong and that they shouldn’t bully other kids.”  I know that if Amanda were still with us today, that she would have and could have become a strong advocate for kids who needed help.  I can say that because Amanda was always the type of kid that learned from experience.  She had to do something to get into trouble and learn to not do it again.  Some things took more than once to learn.  I just wish that …

Tonight my BBBB and I went out for dinner.  We were standing in the parking lot near the arena waiting for a car to move from a parking space so I could get into mine.  There were 3 girls standing on the sidewalk.  From the way they were glancing in my direction, I kind of figured that they might have known Amanda. Then when they started walking in my direction, I knew that they were heading my way.  I didn’t recognize any of them.  They told me their names and what schools they went to.  One had met Amanda a couple of times.  The girls wanted to tell me that they were sorry for my loss and they wanted a hug.  I thought that was such a kind and caring thing to do considering they didn’t know me and they didn’t know Amanda very well.  The girls were probably around 13/14.  To be able to come up and share their feelings and want a hug from a complete stranger took lots of courage.  It made me happy to think that these 3 girls had something in them to show such emotion.  I hope that this is something in their internal make up.

Tomorrow is the 1st Annual X Club Fitness Fundraiser for Amanda.  The response of prize donations has been generous. I heard the gym is decorated with balloons.   I hope lots of people go.  There are even vintage Canucks jerseys for raffle!!!

It will be a busy and mentally exhausting day.  After the fundraiser, there is a daycare reunion of the families that the kids attended daycare with.  It was one of those things that year after year we all said we would get together.  Who would know that tragedies would unfold.  But here we are and we will all get together.  Yes, it will be bittersweet and very sad for me to see all the kids there and one will be missing.  I guess at that time, I won’t be in my happy place!!

I will post tomorrow about the fundraiser.  Have a happy Saturday!!  

Hugz from me xoxo

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to February 23, 2013 – In the happy place …

  1. Tristan says:

    Your last paragraph really hits me the most in this one. My heart and thoughts are with you when thinking of you at the daycare reunion. I know this one cant be an easy one for you, but i hope to hear about a wonderful evening and turnout in the next blog. So hoping everyone is having a good time at the fundraiser, really sounds like an exciting time. It would be some special to be apart of it.

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    Would love to be there for the fundraiser but 2 far away, GOOD LUCK with it, Hope it makes tons of money

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Good luck with the fundraiser. I wish I could be there but it’s a long way from southern Ontario. I hope the place is so packed you feel like sardines lol! I’m sure it will be a great success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

