February 28 @ 12:32 a.m. Wow, what a day!!!

All I can say is WOW!!  And if you remember the story, that is MOM upside down.

My day started off with a visit to Aspenwood Elementary where there was a Pink Shirt Assembly for all 500+ students.  There was singing, dancing, speeches by the kids.  And there was also a cheque presentation to the Amanda Todd Legacy for $1200.  It was amazing to see how much the staff, students and parents worked to fundraise this money in a period of 3 weeks.  The pride and effort that went into this is outstanding.  Yes, I cried.  Am I sappy or just sad.  I gave them a pink bear as a token of remembrance and thank you.  I said some words.  Somehow, I never think that I say enough or the right thing.  Just like the person I am, I need the reassurance to make sure.   Thanks Ann for the coffee and the cupcake!!  I love sprinkles and so did Amanda.  Hmmm…. a PS donut from Tim Horton’s for the month of February next year?  Or October?  Or December?

Then off I went to Gleneagle Secondary where there was a Kindness Rocks concert that was dedicated to Amanda.  It was fabulous.  Lots of singing and energy.  Yes I cried again.  There was a video montage of kids who didn’t make it through their bullying and depression.  Amanda’s picture was last and because she was local, they didn’t keep the picture up for very long.  It was one of the those bittersweet moments.  Wishing she was there to enjoy what the other kids her age were but glad that her tragic story is still out there and causing awareness and the ‘Make a Difference’ attitude.  Stayed after and did a few media interviews (CTV and CBC French) and then had a quick lunch before we were off to the next stop which was Walmart.

At Walmart, there was OMNI news waiting for me as well as Walmart Canada (Port Coquitlam) staff and manager … can’t forget Shannon, Jennifer and Marcy (my ACT snowflake elves).  There was one cheque from Walmart that matched $1000 from a Theatrix Zumba fundraiser in the fall and there was another cheque from Walmart for $2900 for the bracelet fundraising, etc they did in their store.  Yeow.. holy…. smile.  Utterly speechless….

I was supposed to go to yet another thing in the evening that was work related but cancelled that because I was just too tired.  Instead, I tried to answer emails, etc. which is another daunting task these days.  But what I did find was that Anderson Cooper 360 show is having a viewing of The Bullying Effect.  It shows the lives of 3 of the families after the filming of the movie Bully.  This show airs tonight (Thursday Feb 28) on CNN.  You will have to check for the times.

I am so tired.  I just wanted to write about today.  

Love you Ann for being the bestest friend today (aside from BBBB).

Going to bed…. niters… huggers… xoxo

Image

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to February 28 @ 12:32 a.m. Wow, what a day!!!

  1. Paul K says:

    What a wowser of a day indeed! Whirlwind tours,tasty checks for Amanda’s Legacy Fund,super sounding music by talented performers,and then there were the children.All I could see were their teeth(big smiles).No negative energy in that auditorium.How you packed a weeks worth of appearances into a single day I will never know.I have to agree with Tristan,I was eye-balling that delectable cake myself.An absolutely outstanding assemblage of collective efforts by all.Incredible.There just has to be a smile high up there somewhere in the sky.HAPPY DAYS.

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    A great day for anti-bullying and the legacy fund, Great job everyone… Carol, I saw you on a video at the school where “Kindness Rocks” took place, It was nice to see all those kids (over 4100) take part in it. HAGD…Hugz 2U

    Like

  3. Hamsi says:

    The producer of Anderson Cooper actually contacted you in October — well, she left a request in the comments section of a news item about Elise dedicating her Wonder Woman song. I don’t think she managed to connect with you, I did try to find out from her if anything happened on that front and never heard back. Anyhow I am so touched by all the events surrouding Pink shirt day and the kindness manifest in the donations..

    Like

  4. Derek says:

    A truly amazing day for you and the AT Legacy fund good work to all your making a big difference

    Like

  5. Tristan says:

    Wow! what a day by the looks of it! i knew it would be a busy one for you. Some good to see how it all turned out. Just love the Tim Horton’s PS donut idea! the only problem with that is ill be putting on a lot of pounds because ill be eating so many of them! Just so happy and amazed at the amount of money put towards Amanda’s Legacy today,, Simply , WOW! Another good example of showing how much of a positive difference Amanda’s legacy is making! It sounds like it was a good day for everybody all around today! definitely a memorable one! That cake looks some yummy! any chance you could Email me a piece? lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

