March 8 @ 1:09 a.m. MIA …. coming up in gasps!!!

I was just with a friend tonight who is retired.  She said the days just go so fast.  I thought about that comment for a bit and asked myself it that were true.  I came up with the conclusion that yes, days go by way to fast.  Since it’s approaching the 10th of this month in a couple of days.  How did the 5 months go by so fast?  Is Amanda’s Legacy message of not being a bystander and helping others being listened to?

I was at a viewing of the Bully movie again tonight at the Jewish Community Center in Vancouver. This time the movie had sub-titles.  By reading them, I picked up more messages I missed the first two times I watched the movie.  The same feelings of anger and hurt were present.  There were people there I had met at the other showing of Bully in Vancouver at the beginning of February.  I have been in touch with Kirk and Laura Smalley.  Love the things they are doing with their Stand for the Silent campaign.  Wanna find out more about it…

I feel better not really being on my computer 24/7 for the past few days.  But still the mad rush to catch up.  I have done this blog.  I have read FB and Twitter.  Just haven’t gotten to my emails yet.  Many to read and answer.   I will post another past blog.

I know many of you enjoy hearing the Amanda stories.  Here is one for you …  when Amanda was a toddling youngster, she must have been about 2 1/2 to 3 years old, she didn’t sleep much and she loved to climb.  I would find her hanging upside down on the rails of the bunk bed in her room.  She used her bunk bed to do gymnastics routines.  (oh, forgot to mention she also dabbled in gymnastics when she was younger but got afraid of the heights on the balance beam)  So on weekend mornings, Amanda would wake up really early.  She usually was hungry when she woke up.  I kept the cereal in the pantry but the cookies and other snacks were always in the cupboard above the stove.  Well darling Amanda would drag the kitchen chair to the counter, get on the counter, then stand on the stove and go through the cupboards.  When I came downstairs, I would find her munching away at the cookies with that grin on her face and of course crumbs everywhere.  It wasn’t so much the cookies but how she could have accidently turned the element knobs of the stove on and then stepped on them.  So that now meant that before bed every night, I had to take the knobs off until she learned not to climb on the stove.  😦  It was really a funny sight and a good story to tell.

Hugz… xoxo

Image

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to March 8 @ 1:09 a.m. MIA …. coming up in gasps!!!

  1. Savetheworld says:

    Omg what a cutie!! So Bright-eyed and bushy-tailed!! A character I’m sure! 🙂 ❤

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    That was beautiful Paul!

    Like

  3. Paul K says:

    It was good to hear you say you felt better being estranged from your electronic devices.I could be wrong,but I think this is the first time you admit to cutting yourself some slack.Then,in the next sentence,”But still the mad rush to catch up”.Naw,not too driven…Your description of Amanda’s early morning kitchen cookie raids painted a lovely vignette(a small play)in my head.I could almost hear the chair scraping across the floor and those choppers crunching those chocolate chips.The picture you posted of a young,antlered Amanda shut me down for a bit.As I was looking at it,I saw happiness,innocence,tenderness.My mind tried to play catch-up to current events,so I pushed it away and just left my heart to do the thinking for a while.

    Like

  4. Deborah Demers says:

    Love the picture Carol! Amanda looks adorable! Can the movie be rented on dvd or blue ray? I would love to watch it with my family….we have been busy for both events.

    Like

  5. Derek says:

    What a good story about young Amanda and that picture is so cute it reminds us as innocent kids are they can be mischievous.
    Good you got to see Bully again it’s a movie that should be viewed by teens and parents.I would personally tell parents when they have there movie nights with there teens to put this on ( does family movie night still exist).
    And Amanda’s legacy is not going away you will see it’s high’s and low’s but it will never completely go away.

    Like

  6. la Punisher says:

    Amanda’s Legacy message is not going away it is really taking hold, Her message along with many other messages is sending a very strong message around the world about bullying, When I look at other countries around the globe alot of the message is that bullying and cyberbullying is becoming a criminal matter and laws are being past except in Canada and thats because Harper and his band of criminals don’t believe in protecting children….
    Don’t be discouraged Carol You are doing an excellient job, and it is starting to make a diference.

    What a beautiful picture, What a beautiful child, WOW…Big Beautiful smile and excitment in those eyes…so sweet.
    Hugz2u..Carol

    Like

  7. merle48 says:

    Yes, that picture says it all! I can see the mischief in her eyes! I have a grandson who could be her twin. I was always worried about the gas stove knobs also, and had to keep them off until I cooked something. He’s 10 now and still as mischievous as ever! As a matter-of-fact, Amanda looks like she’s concocting some kind of scheme with that expression…priceless! And yes, I am LISTENING to Amanda’s message as are countless others. Our actions speak the loudest though. “Children have never been good at listening to their elders, but they have never failed to imitate them” ~James Baldwin

    Like

  8. Niall McDade says:

    Awww! That picture is so cute! ( Smiles, ear to ear! ) Another great story, thanks Carol. If I could hug you right now, I would.

    Like

Leave a Reply

