March 15 @ 1:01 a.m. – Mentally drained ….

Two Challenge Days in a row.  Wowza.  The first one was really hard on Wednesday as you might have all seen by my posts.  I have to say thanks to those of you who commented on my Facebook.  Your thoughtfulness and caring brings me back to the moments of why I am doing what I am doing with Amanda’s Legacy.  Wednesday night was so draining for me.  Falling asleep early was the best thing for me.  I received a phone call and text on Wednesday night from a friend telling me that his son went to Challenge Day on Wednesday and even though the son came home mentally drained too, he wanted to go back on Thursday to do it again.  That is great news.  I went again Thursday too.  The afternoon was a bit different.  It was another eye opener and a also a heart opener.  I heard so many stories from kids that shouldn’t be happening to kids.  I so wish Amanda had been able to attend a Challenge Day.  I wish more young people could experience Challenge Day.  The way it gets to the inner core and makes one think about life, their life, the person who is standing next to them, in front of them, behind them,…  and on and on.  If you ever hear of one coming to your community, make sure to attend as an adult helper.  If you are a young person, attend for yourself.  You might be asking, what exactly is Challenge Day.  There is a Challenge Day website – http://www.challengeday.org.  You can get information and also watch a video on how Challenge Day works.  That is the simplest way to explain it.  After having now attended, there are lots of kids names that should have gone or should go to the next one.

Tonight, I was pleasantly surprised by a phone call from Miss Universe Canada – Sahar Biniaz – http://www.beautiesofcanada.com/muc/2012/05/sahar-biniaz-is-miss-universe-canada-2012/  It was wonderful to speak with her.  Her speaking platform during her title is anti-bullying.  She sounds like a sweet girl (27 years old) and we are going to try and connect when she is back from Mexico.  She has some very interesting things to say about herself and life in general.  We certainly need more high profile people to keep speaking about bullying/cyberbullying + mental health conerns and issues.

I was supposed to go to a anti-bullying event tonight for Colin Sprake.  Didn’t make it.  After the week I have had, I am zombified.  Not good for company at all.  Just enough to sit here and try to sift through my emails.

Tired now… going to bed.  xoxo

P.S.  Sorry for the short boring post.  I will try to write more.  But when the head hurts, there are no words.

 

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to March 15 @ 1:01 a.m. – Mentally drained ….

  1. monique says:

    Hi Carol. …is there a search engine on here anywhere or a way I can access your blogs from day 0 ? Thanks for your help!

    Like

  2. Hamsi says:

    As I mentioned in an earlier comment, you are not obligated to write when you are not up to it, and certainly you should feel no obligation to worry if what you write is “boring”. This is a forum for healing and sharing, nothing more.

    Like

  3. Paul K says:

    Hope you find some relief today Carol.

    Like

  4. merle48 says:

    Always in my positive thoughts…thank you for thinking of yourself today…

    Like

  5. Tristan says:

    Perfectly said la Punisher, i completely agree with you. That Challenge day thing sounds really interesting, think i might look more into it. Going to sleep earlier than normal is sometimes needed, as your mind and body will shut itself down if it needs too. I know im not one to go to bed at a good time or get my proper amount of sleep, but is it ever wonderful when i do. Taking afternoon naps is also one of my favorite things, nothing more refreshing than that! And that is just too awesome getting a phone call from Miss Universe 🙂 . Never too short, never boring. a few short words can say a lot and go along way!

    Like

  6. la Punisher says:

    Your Blogs Carol are never boring, no matter how short they are there is always something in it that eases the sorrow for you and for us…Hope your day goes well today, Hugz2u

    Like

Leave a Reply

