March 20th – 5 months + 10 days (after October 10)

Today had an interview with Huff Post Live.  I don’t usually feel comfortable doing live anything.  But I agreed to do it as it is one of the only ways to continue to keep the legacy going.  They wanted to talk about Social Media and Teens.  I met some more wonderful virtual people.  It was only a 30 minute session. I don’t usually watch my own interviews but I did put the link up for others to watch.  Here is the link – Huff Post Live  – Sex Talk Goes Live Talk .  The panel consisted of people who are parents and advocates (me included).  There nevers seems to be enough time and I had so much more to share.  The story that one of the moms shared with her 13 year old son talking to a woman on Minecraft that was in her 30’s.  OMG… and that is just my point, that crap can happen to anyone.  I think that contracts work differently with the personality of the kid and possibly the age.  My kids had chore contracts and homework contracts.  There were rules on their ‘first phones’.  Amanda got her first phone at 13 and her brother got his at 15.  I kept telling her she had to wait until grade 8.  I lost that battle!!  Both kids agreed with strict rules back then.  Of course, the phones couldn’t do much of anything back then.  With the sophistication of technology, came more parental headaches.  By the time the Blackberry/iPhones came out, it was Amanda’s second phone and she was off to whatever races she and her friends were onto.  Amanda did not get a Smartphone for a while.  She had one of the older phones that the buttons had 3 letters each.  I told her she was lucky to even have one.  I guess that’s when she used the computer more.  So frustrating.

When the Huff Post interview was airing, I could see on my computer screen that they were projecting pictures of her.  I gave them some new ones.  I now realize that I couldn’t look down while they were showing them.  Why?  Because I would have cried and not been able to talk anymore.  Visuals still pain me.  I can look at the pictures hanging on  my wall, on the fireplace mantle, etc.  But I can’t look at the thousand she took of herself and her friends without bawling my eyes out and asking that f#$$ing question … ‘Why’?  or ‘Why didn’t you ..?’  You said those words to me the night before – ‘Don’t worry mom, I’ll get over it …’  What happened on October 10th during the day???????????????

These are comments that make me feel like I am doing what is right …..

“I just watched the “huffing” video. You have stated many times that you are not a “public speaker”. Huh???? I know it is difficult to watch your own playback, but all I have to say after watching this interview( and your past public speaking) you were incredible. You were focused, poised and direct. Everybody on that panel and the viewers, hung on every word you said. You had said so much in such little time that you were allotted. Whether you inspired 1 person today, or 10, hundreds or thousands or maybe even millions…most importantly, wherever Amanda is, she is smiling down and saying…thanks mom, I love you too forever. That is the one and only fan that is most important. and you know that! You made me cry again Carol…Your message was spot on. You are a great mom. I have to go blow my nose now.”

“Just look what Amanda started. Didn’t she just open up a jumbo can of worms. I love it!! About time this world takes action and makes it ok to stand up to those bullies. To let people know that they’re not alone and it doesn’t have to be this way anymore. Who would’ve thought one girl could start all this and her amazing mother is taking it to a whole new level. You two have made such a difference in such a short time. All I can say is WOW!!! I am so inspired by you to be the best I can be. Get out that bottle of wine and treat yourself Carol. All your hard work is paying off.”

photo

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March 20th – 5 months + 10 days (after October 10)

  1. Paul K says:

    There is so much content in this blog today,with some sentences hitting a few nerves.Amanda’s Legacy Fund has established a firm foundation,in such a short time,due to Carol’s diligence and unrelenting effort.Now it starts to build up.

    Like

  2. Savetheworld says:

    Wow!! You were amazing Carol!! You have already saved so many lives! God bless you! !Amanda picked the best mom ever! 🙂

    Like

  3. Hamsi says:

    Carol, you put on a brave front, but sometimes the façade crumbles. The pain behind, “What happened on October 10th during the day?” is really heart wrenching. One consolation is that because of this incredible girl, and because of your efforts, we can save a “thousand Amanda’s” as you said in launching the Legacy Fund.

    Like

  4. la Punisher says:

    That was a fantastic interview, and you were incredible, No need for me to say anything
    Cause you know it, You are becoming stronger Carol, And the job you are doing for Amanda
    has grown into a huge following world wide… Whatever happens if the going gets tough,
    stay strong, The beast has to be brought to heel and it will

    Wonderful mother, incredible advocate Hugz 2U

    Like

  5. Will Burke says:

    Yes Carol ur hard work is paying off,But it’s for a good cause The Amanda Todd Legacy Fund,has and will make a big difference in this evil place we call the world.

    Like

Leave a Reply

