One month + 13 days after October 10th (for Amanda)

November 22/23, 2013  – The rant or rave???
Here we are again… I am still not tired. I don’t even have the urge to nap in the afternoons. It’s like being the EverReady bunny sometimes except I don’t really want to bang the drum. Although I do recall that someone commented in one of my previous posts that it was okay to ‘bang the drum’ any way I want. So if there was a common consensus, I would probably guess that many of you think that I am indeed banging the drum. Not so much for frustration but to get the attention of others.

I just read the wikipedia page for Dawn Marie Wesley. What resonated with me was a quote from Ray Corrado of Simon Fraser University saying “Bullying is widespread in Canada, as it is in other countries, and now you’re seeing this is the type of behaviour that’s going to be monitored potentially by the court system”. He hoped that the case was a wake-up call for authorities to step up their efforts to stop school bullying. The trial happened in 2002. That was 10 years ago. That was a decade ago. But the story resonates the same way even time has past. There was also a documentary movie made in 2011. Wow … that was 11 years after her death. I haven’t seen it and need to find it. We probably all need to watch it to learn from it. What would I say if anyone wants to make one about Amanda? I have no clue. Do I really want my daughter’s story to be immortalized more than it is? Would any of you out there (as parents or would be parents or just a thinking adult) want it? It’s just another one of those pondering questions. Apparently the French press are here in my city right now scouring for information. Asking all about Amanda. Even trying to find out if and when she played soccer. I have to wonder what they are planning to do with their information and what kind of media product they are planning to make.”

Before I end my thoughts for this day, I want to recommend a book for everyone to try and read. It is called ‘The Book of Awesome’ by Neil Pasricha. There is also a website – 1000awesomethings.com. It is truly one of those inspirational books to read because it makes light of things that totally awesome in life. I hope everyone that reads my rants goes to check this out.

So for now, good night (maybe) and sweet dreamz. Love you all … xoxo – Me!!!”

 

 

 


 


About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One month + 13 days after October 10th (for Amanda)

Leave a Reply

