Nov 25 -1 month and 15 days from October 10th (for Amanda)

Nov 25 (2 days until…) 

Well… the sadness is setting in yet again. Knowing that in 2 days that it would have been Amanda’s 16th birthday. The one she was so looking forward to. Have to share a story … she wanted a party complete with either a stobe light or a smoke machine. She had been to WalMart to scout around for these things. The only problem was each cost around $40. And … we all know how Amanda .. when something is on her mind .. she goes for it. (Hmm.. much like her mother.) Anyways, Amanda wanted a party. She said only about 20 people. BUT .. she posted it on FB. I had let her know that with a FB invite, there was not going to be 20 people here but a whole lot more. She didn’t get that part. She figured that I would patrol the door for her. Now that would have been interesting. So she did take it off FB but not without some words between mom and daughter. She felt the park was too cold to go to do the things kids do at parties… now what would that be???? 

With her bday coming up, I have seen a flurry of conversation to get Christmas lights up and ornaments out. It makes me feel so warm inside. The same way that my community and beyond have been so generous with their kindess and caring. If only I could give back to each and everyone person but I know I can’t. In my head, is a start to a letter but then it gets halted by sadness. I will have to post the picture of a vehicle that friends found in the mall parking lot in our area. It shows how Amanda has affected many lives. For example at Amanda’s memorial last Sunday, there was a person there who came all the way from Toronto. Yes he had friends out here but his main purpose was for Amanda.

Today I had a random visit from a person who lived in Whiterock who recognized that the background of some of the pics of Amanda and I were on the pier in Whiterock. It is all about touching lives and hearts. 

I could go on forever about the people who I have been in touch with.

At the memorial, friends put together a binder of letters and thoughts from around the world. I was looking through them tonight and all I can say is WOW!!!  I still shake my head in disbelief and say ‘Really?? Did princess snowflake make this happen in the world??’ And it is still evolving and she is still being talked about. 

I can only hope that from this tragedy that others can be prevented. Let’s promise to work together to not make the message or the legacy fade away.

Love you all xoxo – Amanda is watching us and giggling at us.

flickr-5360064817-hd

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nov 25 -1 month and 15 days from October 10th (for Amanda)

  1. merle48 says:

    Eternally SWEET SIXTEEN…..

    Like

  2. Niall McDade says:

    Thanks for another cute little story about Amanda, Carol. I’m sure that would’ve been quite some party, if Amanda had her way! I’ll have you in my thoughts and in my heart today. Much love.

    Like

Leave a Reply

