April 15 – Another new friend or two …

Today I met a special person.  That would be Sahar Biniaz and her mother.  What sweet and wonderful people. So kind.  So generous.  So friendly.   The minute that I met and began talking to both of them, I knew that it was genuine.  We had brunch. Talked. Laughed. And told stories.  They had lots of stories to tell.  Sahar  is Miss Universe Canada 2012.  Her reign ends at the end of May.  For the past year, she has travelled around the world and has talked about bullying and anti-bullying.  Believe it or not, she also lived the experiences when she was a teenager.  She talks about them.  She wants others to learn from her stories.  How she was afraid.  The fears of telling others.  How she felt.  How she got out of feeling so lonely and unconfident.  When you look at her now, she is so poised and can speak easily about topics which are important and interesting.  I am proud that she can talk about what she has gone through so that other young people can learn from this.  Wouldn’t it be great if those that bullied her would speak up to why they did what they did all those years ago.

IMG_1839

I am still exhausted from the week.  So many things swirling.  It makes me unable to sleep.  Even Candy Crush isn’t working.  I have been continuing to read about the Rehteah Parsons story.  How the RCMP reopened the case?  I am glad that after Amanda passed, that her case was reopened automatically.  Thank you to our government for that. Would I have fought for it otherwise, probably so.  Over the past week, I have thought many thoughts about Amanda.  Especially about what we talked about.  We had talked alot after the physical assault in February, 2012.  She had a choice to make. I will talk about it more after her case has been closed and hopefully appropriate justice will have been done.  There was a rally in Halifax today.  People spoke about bullying and the RP case.  One person felt strongly about Amanda’s story and spoke up.  This is the message that I got from her. I am honoured that amidst all that is going on, someone took the time to realize that it is about the causes that bring us together as a group to work together.

“I wanted you to know that I attended the protest for Rehtaeh today in Halifax. I hadn’t planned on saying anything but when no one referenced the Amanda Todd situation I had to take the microphone. My speech was short yet powerful.. With no notes I said (from my memory- and in my most powerful voice possible):  I just want to remind everyone that 6 months ago a young lady by the name of Amanda Todd died under similar circumstances. The RCMP set up a task force of 20 to 25 investigators and to date not one charge has been laid. I want to ask you all to remember, when the news cameras go onto other stories and the RCMP is blowing smoke in your face, please don’t forget Rehteah!”

It was received by applause and a high five from the head of the Anonymous group.  I felt that out of respect for Carol Todd I should say something about her Princess Snowflake to let her know that we have not forgotten.  If you feel it is appropriate to let her know then pass it along.   Thanks …

I finally had the courage to open up the painting that Michael Bell painted for me.  He is the art teacher/artist that painted the picture of Amanda as a tribute. http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/03/12/amanda-todd-painting-michael-bell-students_n_2862197.html  It was his birthday on April 10th. Also on April 10, it was 6 months since October 10th.  So that is the date that I decided to take a look at the painting.  Wow… to see it close up and all the handprints in the colours that Amanda loved the most.  I don’t even think that Michael knew about purple and pink being two of her fav colours.  We unrolled it in a restaurant the workers thanked us after for sharing it with them.

IMG_1830

I have also been in communication with so many different people this week. I am spending tomorrow trying to (of course) finish my taxes.  Find some addresses for shirts/hoodies.  Write down notes from all the emails I get from various people.  With so many names, I can only remember some by what they do or sometimes what they wear. However, this doesn’t help me when I am trying to find an email or phone number.

Have to leave you with this picture.  So cool and funky…

Screen Shot 2013-04-15 at 2.56.34 AM

So those were the highlights of the last few days.  I am sure there are more to come.  Another school wants to use the Amanda Todd Legacy for their YPI project.  A calendar.  A healthy drink.  A bike rally.  Walmart.  The list continues to grow.  Her legacy continues to grow.  But without you guys out there, there would be NOTHING!!

Loving you (and my kids and my BBBB) with all my heart!!

xoxo (and TM and KM and JG and SL and AH and LGI)  There are lots more I could add but those are my night-owls for now.

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to April 15 – Another new friend or two …

  1. Lisa says:

    I will always be there for you!

    Like

  2. Andria says:

    Boa Noite !!
    Suas palavras foram muito fortes ..tudo que aconteceu nestes dias soou muito positivo Parabéns Carol ..
    E Punisher la por favor não se vá !!

    Like

    • Tristan says:

      I could fill in for la Punisher in translating posts until he is back!
      Translation for Andria : Good Night!
      His words were very strong .. everything that happened these days sounded very positive Congratulations Carol ..
      And it Punisher please do not go!

      Like

  3. Hamsi says:

    “After appropriate justice will be done”….that is we are all waiting for. Your precious daughter deserves nothing less. I commend that person who spoke up in that crowd.

    Keep up your noble cause, Carol, we are all rooting for you!

    Like

  4. Savetheworld says:

    I have a trick for falling asleep, take all your worries place them in an imaginary balloon and let them float away. Keep a sticky pad next to your bed, sometimes writing down things will allow you to clear your mind. Sadly,

    I read about yet another tragic story Audrie Pott from California. Very similar to Rejtaeh. What has this world turned to? Do these kids have any morals, a heart? I’m completely dumbfounded 😦 There has to be a way to get our government to listen and to take action. What can we do? Is there a petition we can start?

    We love you Carol and we will stand behind you alwsys! Thank you for being the amazing person that you are!! Sending you healing love Carol xo ❤

    Like

  5. merle48 says:

    To Paul, “Keep on truckin’ Amanda” I LOVE that!

    Like

  6. Paul K says:

    Nicely put together blog today Carol.Good info and pictures to go with the story.The “Sahar” part was most revealing.The “Mural of Amanda” is a wowser.All those hundreds of personal handprints,surrounding Amanda’s head like a protective Halo.Precious indeed.The truck tailgate is not too shabby either.Must of taken hours to airbrush on.Keep On Truckin Amanda!

    Like

  7. GregSticker says:

    In all seriousness…. I am hoping that we can move Amanda up from Princess to Queen! Queen Snowflake.

    Like

  8. namedallas says:

    Thanks Carol
    For not giving up the fight .

    Like

  9. merle48 says:

    Hi Carol! Your blog sure ended with an upbeat feeling…I think the artistry and messages done for Amanda and her legacy are realized, and it just makes you so proud, and to KNOW and FEEL that her legacy is GROWING, do not ever feel we will forget…your beautiful child has a purpose bigger than life!

    Like

  10. Sue Hindle says:

    I love the painting.. so beautiful.. I started playing candy crush too.. now I am hooked Have a wonderful day. Hope you get your taxes done . hugs

    Like

  11. GregSticker says:

    Ms. Carol, I saw that painting of Amanda in the first link u[p there. The artist did such a tremendous job and the guy that painted the tailgate. I’ll say it now. I saved both to my hard drive. The you tube vid was actually saved a couple months ago. The truck picture, I just saw and after I post this…. I will. Okay that being said. You know the little garden? I posted it on facebook? Well if you remember, there was a japanese plum. A seedling. This makes me sad to tell you. Some friend of my dad’s claims he didn’t know the significance of all that and cut the plant down! He was mowing that lot. I told him what that whole scenery meant. that i wasn’t mad at him but wish he would have not moved anything. I mean it should have been obvious, with the two bricks marking the poor plant. Can you say “duh?” Anyway… there is a small root now (I just checked) poking its way through the soil. I hope it grows. Anyway I am trying to find some paint, stencil, and I will paint in her colors, pink, purple? Her name. Simply it will say Amanda Michelle’s Princess Snowflake Garden.” Give it it time. I DON’T want to rush this. and it look cheesy. I hope you are well and all. 🙂 You are an inspiration to me Ms. Carol. Seriously.

    Like

  12. la Punisher says:

    That is a beautiful written blog, I just love it, ” Peace ~ Love ~ Joy ” for you… Double Hugz 2U

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      Just 2 add a bit 2 post
      Will be gone 4 a week plus, Don’t know how much time I will get online, But just want to re-assure U that your work and blogs mean so much to so many ” STAY STRONG “

      Like

Leave a Reply

