April 22 – A title eludes me ..

Good question … who knows the answer?  I sleep and then I can’t sleep.  Now I’ve got Candy Crush going in two places.  My laptop and my phone.  I haven’t even done the iPad thing yet.  Too many devices. I have to thank all those who have been retweeting my tweets. Definitely social media at its best.  But however, I have been reading articles related to teen suicide and cyberbullying.  There are actually so many posted and they are not exclusive to Canada.  I will post the links that I got today below. The common thread is that the cyberbullying rate is going up.  And then in another set of Google alerts, it says that teen suicide is also increasing.  Is there a correlation?

Cyberbullying gains among younger children
The Journal News | LoHud.com
But Weiss, of New City, wonders how many parents even know about ask.fm or similar sites where teens can post offensive messages anonymously, creating fertile ground for cyberbullying. Their disadvantage seems obvious when parents are trying to 
See all stories on this topic »
Cyberbullying on the rise
San Francisco Chronicle (blog)
Cyberbullying among teens has shot up in frequency in recent years, from affecting just 6 percent of kids in 2000 to 85 percent today, polls show. Among those in the 85 percent is Audrie Pott, a 15-year-old girl from Saratoga who hanged herself in 
See all stories on this topic »
Maryland cyberbullying law: Protecting kids and speech
Baltimore Sun
Cellphones and the Internet have not only altered the way we communicate, they have changed the way we can injure one another. The telecommunications revolution has created the capability of causing far greater harm to children than the bullying many 
See all stories on this topic »
New site helps teens deal with cyberbullying
Toronto Sun
Do you think that cyber-bullying is a problem? Yes; No; I don’t know. Vote. View Results. 0%; Yes. 0 votes. 0%; No. 0 votes. 0%; I don’t know. 0 votes. Reader’s comments ». By adding a comment on the site, you accept our terms and conditions and our 
See all stories on this topic »
New bullying policy reaches kids at home – Rapid City Journal
Rapid City Journal
As Rapid City schools prepare to wade into the murky waters of policing students’ use of social media, one critic says a new cyberbullying policy might be unconstitutional, and others say it will be difficult to enforce and may waste valuable resources 
See all stories on this topic »
Attack ads lower the bar on debate
Hamilton Spectator
Prime Minister Stephen Harper is hypocritical when he denounces the cyberbullying in the case of Rehtaeh Parsons but allows his party to engage in some cyberbullying of its own. An online and TV attack ad about Justin Trudeau shows the newly minted 
See all stories on this topic »

 

Web 1 new result for cyberbullying
Sun News : New site helps teens deal with cyberbullying
Teens who are sexually harassed, threatened or targetted online have a new way to help them regain control over their lives. On Sunday, the Canadian Centre 
www.sunnewsnetwork.ca/sunnews/…/20130421-130103.html

I spent the day trying to clean up my messy piles of paper which have been collecting since October 10th.  I knew I would find Amanda things in my piles and I did.  There were school assignments that she had done in the fall.  One was for her English class where they had to take song lyrics and describe the meaning and emotions.  I found the lyrics of one of the songs that she used in her You Tube video.  I glanced but couldn’t read it.  I hope that one day soon I can.  It just shows me how ‘unready’ I am to read and hear her thoughts.

The snowflake garden looks great.  BBBB (Rob) pulled the weeds today.  He knows that I am not really a gardener.  But he says he likes to puddle around in the garden anyways.  So it’s a win/win.  I always used to get Amanda outside to help me with the garden before BBBB was here.  Talk about whining.  I watched her once.  It was so sad to watch a young girl try to garden so she wouldn’t ruin her nails.  I gave her gloves.  They didn’t work for her.  It was like the time when I got her to come outside to help shovel snow.  After we got through the coat, boots, mitts and ‘it’s freezing outside mom’, it was okay.  For about 10 minutes.  The snow was heavy.  It was starting to rain.  Her arms hurt.  OMG … it was absolutely horrible but hilarious.  Then her brother came out to help shovel.  Let the bickering begin.  We had two shovels.  One for each of them.  Hmmm… now what about mom.  I went in to make hot chocolate.  It’s a good thing that it really doesn’t snow here a lot.  Amanda liked the snow to play in but not to do chores with ….

Off to play CC!!!

Hugz to all xoxo

Screen Shot 2013-04-22 at 1.35.33 AM

 

 

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to April 22 – A title eludes me ..

  1. merle48 says:

    Tonight I came across the perfect quote, “Sorrow is the mere rust of the soul. Activity will cleanse and brighten it. ~Samuel Johnson This is so YOU Carol, and this appears to be the best way for you to heal yourself, and alot of people cannot comprehend this,,,but I DO now, perfectly. Never mind the ones that don’t get it, you are doing yourself and Amanda a great service to forge on, even in the face of criticism and doubt. Your daughter would be so proud of you…I know that!

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    I am back, And I have alot of reading to do, Just love your stories, and really missed them and Love hearing about Amanda, But now to catch up…
    Thanx tristan for helping Carol out with translation, She’s way to busy, So help is good…

    I brought Amanda’s name up in every conversation I could, and talked a lot in conversations about Youth committing homocide using social media, Hopeful some of it sinks in and everyone raises their voice or at the least raises their children to respect one another

    Like

    • merle48 says:

      So glad you’re back…miss your comments!

      Like

    • Tristan says:

      Welcome back la Punisher, its always great to see your posts.

      Yes those 2 songs Amanda had chosen for her video, are pretty heavy songs (emotionally speaking)- there is nothing easy about those songs. I had never heard either song until i seen her video. The first many times watching it over during the first few days following the 10th, i was more so focused on just what she was saying with the flash cards. After a while the lyrics of both songs really started to sink in, and hit me really hard. I really couldnt believe the emotional power with those 2 songs especially along with her video. Something that can easily bring one to tears.. So i think anyone could understand if you feel not yet ready to read her thoughts on those songs.

      Like

  3. Savetheworld says:

    Your girl lives on in our hearts and minds and your precious Amanda stories truly bring her to life and gladden and sadden our hearts. 🙂 😦 Know that we all care about you immensely you will get through this and it WILL get easier! I promise. Xoxo ❤

    Like

  4. merle48 says:

    These little discoveries are probably very hard on you, I know they would be on me…the “little things” that were part of all her days, that tell you who she was as a young person.When you share these little bits and pieces, I hope it brings healing to you, which reminiscing can do. Please continue to share with us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

