May 16 – Keeping up and falling behind …

It seems like that is the story of my life right now.  I catch up to my social media and then take a break from it (maybe even only 30 minutes) and it’s all full up again.   There seems to be so many more people that I have connected with each week.  I feel bad for the ones that have dropped off.  Only for the reasons that they have funnelled deeper into my email and I don’t see them anymore.  I can’t possibly say hi and keep in touch with the literally hundreds of people I have met over the past 7 months.  So if you are someone out there who may feel that I have abandonned or neglected, please drop me an email to say hello or a FB message or a Twitter message.  My mind just swirls.  I have to keep up with the current although there are lots of pasts I would like to talk to.  Another (significant) problem is that moms and dads in the past 40 years liked certain names for their daughters – Michelle, Sandra, Christy (spelled different ways), Sherry (also spelled different ways).  I can’t keep them all straight.

This is only the first part of a post ….

Part 2

After reading the responses, it is so overwhelming to see all the positive ones.  I get news feeds all day about what is going on in Canada and around the world.  It’s the quickest way for me to keep up to date.  Yes, it plugs up my email but that’s ok.  I get to read the news headlines at least.  I often wonder why the news is so negative.  There are very few happy thoughts.  We all need to see and hear the happies.  I also think about what I am posting for others to read in terms of articles, etc.  Although most are sad and depressing, it helps us to learn what we need to do to keep working on the positives.  There are so many people who benefit from the postives.

I once again missed #DadChat.  Bruce is going to stop talking to me.  I always plan to join but the timing doesn’t always work out.  Thursdays at dinner time is not good.  Especially today when at dinner, the sun was out shining so I took the opportunity to sit out in my driveway with my BBBB and enjoy the sunshine, conversation and a beverage of whatever was around.  I think that was my better choice for that time.

I met some a new mom today on my social media.  She is the mom (Jill Trahan-Hardy)  that has a daughter who is bullied in school.  She took her daughter out of school and then took her back and is in the school with her.  There was a Canada AM interview taped this morning and here is it – http://canadaam.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=927705&playlistId=1.1283896&binId=1.815911&playlistPageNum=1 .  I find it sad also that it has to go to media before things are done.  I will be interested in talking to this mom further to see what happens.

Why can’t kids get it … that being mean and nasty to each other doesn’t get you anywhere?

How much awareness needs to be done?

What about parents who condone this behaviour? (Yes, there are probably some out there.)  Jill’s daughter’s friend audio recorded the students who were saying the ‘harassing words’ out loud.  Swearing and one of the dad’s mentioned.

I shake my head.  Would half the parents out there who found out that their own kids were exhibiting bullying behaviours react?

Maybe that would make a good research study, to talk to the parents of youth who have been bullies. Find out if conversations have occurred at home.  I don’t know.  Just thoughts.

How to promote more awareness and kindness?   And it can’t cost alot of money because there isn’t that much to go around.  If only we could smile more.  Do more nice things for each other.  It would sure go along way.

I really like the program Kids In the Know has been produced and made available by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection.  It is an interactive safety education program for increasing the personal safety of children and reducing their risk of sexual exploitation for students in Kindergarten to Grade 9.  The website is also filled with great resources.  NetSmartz is also a good website to check out.

I will endeavour to find a ‘happy good feeling’ article everyday and post it.  I challenge everyone to do the same thing.  Where can we put them though for all to see?

Hugz and happy smiles to all my friends.  If only Amanda had been surrounded by kindness, smiles and laughter by those who she wanted it from the most (her peers) — she would still be here.

Love you all – my real and virtual friends – xoxo

Imported Photos 00010Screen Shot 2013-05-13 at 4.05.47 PM

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to May 16 – Keeping up and falling behind …

  1. jag72 says:

    If I could get yours strength of character.
    Thank you for being there for all of us.

    Like

  2. Renée B. says:

    I just want to say that I don’t post a message very often but I visit your blog every day. I cannot explain why but I feel a strong connection with Amanda, maybe because I have two daughters in the same age group, and one of them is also named Amanda and has similar features (also Eurasian). I guess the main reason is that I was bullied and rejected at school in grade 1 and 2, and later in grade 9, so I feel for Amanda even if what I experienced was not to the same degree.
    I will keep on visiting your blog for as long as it lasts. What a lovely picture!

    Like

  3. Hamsi says:

    I haven’t seen new pictures of Amanda lately so that picture you posted gave me a jollt, and a feeling of wistfulness…if only she could could have been steered through this bad patch in her life!

    I can only endorse all the views that have been expressed by the caring people here.

    Like

  4. la Punisher says:

    Beautiful Picture… That’s a great challenge Carol, It’s not impossible to find an article, Just got to shift tho’ the doom and gloom brought on by the media,
    Hugz 2U

    Like

  5. Savetheworld says:

    Always here for you Carol. We all care about you and we love you very much! Never forget it! Xo ❤

    Like

  6. namedallas says:

    Well I am always behind to,but I don’t keep up with near as much as what you do,and I always hope that I don’t add to the load that you are already burdened with. Take care Carol.

    Like

  7. Sue Hindle says:

    I don’t always write but I do read.. the blogs. I am also no one special either but I like the positve energy here I am .. just someone who cares and supports you , i can’t imagine how you do everything you do.. Reading your blogs and your posts on Facebook has helped me be more conscious of mental health issues especially with the youth.. Today I was helping a casual SEA wait for one of our students to arrive.. I held the door open for the other students coming in and said good morning to about a dozen kids. So thank you Carol.. for your inspiration and like the others I will always be here HUGS

    Like

  8. la Punisher says:

    I think everyone is fantastic, It is so good to see everybody sharing and caring, And especially because you (we) all are still standing strong and caring about Carol and her family, that’s what puts faith back into humanity

    Hugz 2U

    Like

  9. Andria says:

    Boa Noite Carol !!
    Eu nunca vou te abandonar ..venho aqui todos os dias e sempre que posso te mando fotos de flores no FB …não tenho comentado muito por razões pessoais ,mas saiba que leio tudo que deixa em seu blog ..amo muito tudo isto !!

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      translation for Andria:
      Good Night, Carol!
      I will never leave you .. come here every day and whenever I can send you pictures of flowers on FB … have not commented much for personal reasons, but know that I read everything that gets in your blog .. very love it all!

      Like

  10. Tammy says:

    I agree with Merle …we are here for the long haul Carol 🙂
    Trust me if we message you and you don’t get back to us ..if it’s important we will message again
    Your life is very busy ,I don’t know how you cope most days lol ,your friends are your friends near or far and no time or space can come between a real friendship
    With much love & hugs
    Tammy Fundak (Becca’s Mom)
    Ontario Canada

    Like

  11. merle48 says:

    I myself am no one special, however, I am drawn to this blog for various reasons…humankind, spiritual, good writing, good people…I would never feel abandoned, as I imagine your plate is quite full! I do not need reassurance as probably your other loyal readers don’t either. But I WILL reassure you that I am here for the duration however long that might be. If you ever want my perspective, all you have to do is ask…even though I’m a good 3000 miles away. But remember that I am a “Jersey Girl” and we have our own way of standing up and supporting those we care about! HaHa JK

    Like

Leave a Reply

