May 25 – Mama Bears and the Be Bold Campaign

I love it!! The Be Bold Campaign that is.  (Twitter – @BeBoldCampaign)  Easy to understand.  Taking pictures + Words + Word definition = Be Bold.   Being Bold is about being true to yourself.  Being honest enough to say things that you mean.  To live harmoniously in a confusing world but to exude enough kindness and respect to make others feel loved and important.  There is a Be Bold photo launch tomorrow (Saturday) in downtown Vancouver.  I will be attending and bringing my words (Amanda and Snowflake).   You will see them when they are done.  But does anyone have any suggestions for the letter ‘N’.

Screen Shot 2013-05-25 at 12.37.09 AM

I spent the day trying to sort out my contacts through Twitter, Facebook and email.  I have lots that are old and new.   I just sent out the Me to We voting info to all that I could today.  If everyone could then just retweet it out.  Sorry if it seems redundant but you may see it here everyday until June 1st.  I had a friend write up an email that she sent out.  The local paper called this morning for information and promptly got an article out for me.  I think it has be retweeted daily to catch people.  Amanda’s friends are working on spreading it out also.

Me to We Awards 2013

“In spite of her grief, Carol Todd has met with many people to share her and her daughter’s experiences with cyber-bullying and the mental health system. Not only has she collaborated with local athletes, business organizations, and politicians, but she has also campaigned her cause at both the provincial and federal levels (even Prime Minister Harper!). She continues to talk up the need for added support systems for troubled youth and their families, and has set up a legacy fund in honour of her daughter to help fund new initiatives in schools and communities.

With all that has happened in her life, and with all that she has managed to accomplish since Amanda’s death 8 months ago, Carol Todd has been nominated for a 2013 Me to We Award in the category of Social Action. As one of the top 3 candidates from across Canada, it is important to acknowledge the awareness we know have about cyber-bullying and such issues partly due to Carol’s recent work. Winners of each of the 6 award categories will each receive a $5000 donation to the charity of their choice.”

So please consider voting in this year’s Me to We Awards. Voting opened on May 24th and will go until June 1st.

http://www.tricitynews.com/news/208840931.html

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/p/metowe.html

I was told an endearing young people story today.  It was prom night last night.  The boys in their suits.  The girls in their dresses.  Definitely a night to remember.  In Ontario, they go grad camping after exams are done.  In our area, it’s the day after the dinner and dance.  So anyways, the kids went back to one of their houses.  They stayed up and had fun.  The mom of the house stayed up too (of course) and had great chats with some of the kids.  But eventually sleep took over.  The mom woke up this morning to find boys asleep still in their suits.  And also a note on her fridge saying ‘Thank you!!’.

What a great story as it shows the caring and compassion of the younger generation.  If only we can all learn from these stories and experiences.  I guess that’s why I share them (without names).

I meet people everyday who say hi or want a hug.  I was shopping at Costco today and the checkout person recognized me.  As she was wishing me a good rest of the day, she saw my green and pink bracelets.  She wanted to know how and where to get them.  Not to stop the line up flow, I got her email address.  Then I remembered that I had some bracelets in my purse.  I dug some out and gave them to her.  I love seeing the smiles on the faces.   MM is cringing right now as she reads this.  Because … I keep giving things away.  (She gets mad at me because I have paid for it all on my own.)  But for me, it’s all about the promoting awareness of anti-bullying, mental health, exploitation and ultimately KINDNESS!!  If you are someone who reads this blog and has received something in the mail recently from me (paid or non-paid), please make a comment.  Putting a smile on someone’s face and letting them have a perfect day is my gift!!  I think R in eastern Canada is happy too!!  His mailbox was full yesterday.   Now if I can only get better rates for mailing … arggg….

Tomorrow is another day.  CC time .. Level 64 or 65 I think.  BBBB is on Level 103.  Grrr..

Hugz, cuddles, warm fuzzies…. xoxo ME (Mama Bear)

Screen Shot 2013-05-25 at 1.06.52 AM

REMEMBER TO TELL YOUR FRIENDS AND FAMILY MEMBERS TO VOTE on the Me To We Awards 2013  website !! Focus on the SOCIAL ACTION cateogory.  Have to get to the end where they Thank you for voting.

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to May 25 – Mama Bears and the Be Bold Campaign

  1. Yes, I cringe when you give things away, but I know your HUGE heart and why you do what you do. I admire you for that. I know it will take care of itself as you put out the evergy of giving soooo much you can ONLY get it back Tenfold. So, all is good. Just trying to keep alittle rein on Mama Bear!!:)

    Like

  2. H.I.D. says:

    And there Most Certainly Is The Letter ” N ”
    in Amandas name.
    And that’s how she treated people. With Kindness, Compassion, and Love.
    Heart of Gold.
    Beautiful Princess Snowflake, Forever Loved. For Ever and Ever.

    Like

  3. merle48 says:

    I don’t know how I missed the first paragraph, but I just read the other suggestions for the letter “N” at this moment. I was just talking about kindness because you said, …”ultimately KINDNESS!!” and I just went with that thought for my reply. Okay, now I will give you an idea for the letter “N” also. NOBLE=very kind.

    Like

  4. H.I.D. says:

    Spelling mistake…..
    The word for the letter N
    Is ” nourishing ”
    meaning Loving, Kind, Attention, Caring.

    Like

  5. H.I.D. says:

    Word for the letter N
    “nurishing”

    Like

  6. merle48 says:

    KINDNESS stands for more than just being nice to others, doesn’t it? I believe it also means acceptance of other’s faults, acceptance of criticisms’ from others, holding back when we’d rather match an eye for an eye…yes, these deeds also equal KINDNESS. KINDNESS= YOU because this is your demeanor in action all the time, and I have been watching…haha…you absorb a lot, and that is significant to me!

    Like

  7. namedallas says:

    Word for the letter N (NATURAL- not artificial).

    Like

  8. Tristan says:

    My mail box has been full from you a few times 🙂 ,, and i can honestly say , its just like Christmas morning receiving stuff from you. Please dont think i forgot about the shirts , i do plan on placing a few orders in soon ,, looking forward to making some contributions 🙂 I love all that you are doing Carol,, you really do know how to put a smile on a persons face.

    Like

  9. la Punisher says:

    Great Blog… Will B promoting the me to we 4U, Hugz 2U

    Like

  10. Dennis v says:

    Received stuff from you in the mail…definitely put a smile on my face..thanks again mommy bear! Have a great weekend!

    Like

  11. H.I.D. says:

    Yes,
    My mailbox was Full Yesterday
    Thank You So Much Carol
    Will definately vote for you !!

    Like

Leave a Reply

