May 30 – 12:01 a.m. 4 little words …

I have a  headache.

Not sure why.  Someone did say the word maggots to me.  What would that mean?  It would be up to the discretion of some to figure it out.

I have had my day reading about Facebook and trolls  Also about what Facebook promises to do about all the crap that people post.  There are hundreds of things posted with reference to Amanda on Facebook.  All need to be taken down.  We have also come across things on Twitter.  Those need to go to.  For now, I am focussing on my daughter.  The things posted about her after death are far worse that what she saw in life.  How can people be raised to think like that?  I call it plain sick and deranged.  Mental health care … we need you!!!

My question on the night .. why are there so many kids and parents out there suffering right now?  Not knowing where to go for help?  It’s either not enough support or not enough personal funds for support.

How can we help everyone?  And if the communities can’t, what happens to the kids and their parents.  We ARE NOT an expendable society.  We shouldn’t be losing special people.

I got a text message tonight about a girl who is feeling lost and tired.  She lost her best friend recently.  She wants to reach out and talk to me.  If she is reading this, I am here to listen.  Kids shouldn’t be losing their friends.  Especially to bullying and social media and depression.  Why aren’t there enough supports out there?

Went to visit some new friends tonight that are special too.  I only hope that what I say to them is important and makes a difference.  To their son, you are loved by your parents and myself.  Do your personal best and don’t worry about the rest.

Just like I am here to listen to anyone who wants a shoulder or an ear.  I know it takes alot of my energy but it’s worth it to me.

I am attending a fundraiser this Friday night.  I have 10 minutes to speak.  Not sure what I am going to say.  As I said before, I will look at the audience and decide then and there.  Everyone is special and each group is unique.  I just want to make sure that what I say is meaningful and important.

I had a 16 year old interview me tonight for a school project.   He asked me what I wanted to accomplish with the Amanda Todd Legacy.  For me and those who know me best – it is about awareness, compassion understanding and kindness.  Don’t be the BYSTANDER!!  Help and support … in other words BE BOLD enough to step up…

I’m so very tired from thinking so I am going to go and play some CC.  Level 65 for the past two weeks.  I know the chocolate squares personally now.

Oh yeah, the Expedia trolls are so cute but that’s not what we say about all of them!!!

Love you all … especially my kids and my BBBB.

11684_10200793733423884_1300539855_n-1

Articles

uknowkids.com – subscribe to the blog – http://info.uknowkids.com/blog

Submit the Documentary – http://www.submitthedocumentary.com/submit-your-documentary-2/

We are all in this together, so we want to hear from you! If you have any experiences with cyberbullying, as a victim, a bully or a bystander, please share your story with us. We know it can be difficult to talk about, but we believe by sharing your story with others you can give strength to someone else in the same situation. We also welcome videos from anyone who wants to send out love and support to those who are struggling with cyberbullying on a daily basis. Please post your story, including a link to your video, and Submit Your Story!

Kids in the Know – https://www.kidsintheknow.ca/app/en/

Kids in the Know is an interactive safety education program for increasing the personal safety of children and reducing their risk of sexual exploitation.

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to May 30 – 12:01 a.m. 4 little words …

  1. Markus says:

    Whatever he or she meant with it. Here is what it should stand for in context with you.

    Mother
    Awesome
    Generous
    Great
    Outstanding
    Thoughtful
    Special

    XOXO

    Like

  2. Renée B. says:

    I read the articles you posted yesterday regarding Facebook and I am amazed to learn of some some of the things that are posted in there!! I think that people who use social media outlets to make disparaging comments about others have serious issues themselves…
    Personnally, I don’t have a Facebook or Twitter account so I have no idea of what is out there. Regarding comments made about Amanda, it is very sad to see that some people really have no sense of decency or empathy. It is very easy to say nasty things about someone who is not there to contradict them. As we say in French: “Les absents ont toujours tort.” (The absent are always in the wrong, or at fault.) I hope there is a way of purging those comments you are referring to, and quickly. Although, would it be possible to trace back the authors in order to get some kind of punishment for them?
    It seems to me that when people think there will be no retaliation, they say all kinds of things just to see what reactions they will get.

    Like

  3. Savetheworld says:

    Mental illness is on the rise. New stressors equal more brain chemistry imbalances. Give people the ability to rant and rave anonymously and they are able to take out all their fears insecurity problems issues out on others especially strangers. the internet has made it so easy. What we need to remember is that everything people say about others is a definite reflection of how they feel about themselves! Its called transference. It’s become a real free for all on the Internet everyone and anyone including trolls people with mental issues predators pedos etc have access to all the children in the world pretty darn scary!! How did this happen? How did society allow this? It’s mind boggling! I also believe that it is the lack of sleep that is causing more depression and anxiety. Sleep is essential to our health as well as exercise. Yes I’ve heard cells going off in the middle of the night I’ve even found myself in bed on my phone until the wee hours of the night it’s addictive. We also all need more exercise in our lives edpecially kids, it increases the levels of serotonin in your brain which in turn makes you happy. We definitely need more access to mental health professionals! Sad state of affairs Carol! Thank you for making a difference in everyone’s life! Amanda is our little angel she has changed the world and she has opened up the worlds eyes! Lets pray that new measures are put in place soon to protect everyone. Xo

    Like

    • merle48 says:

      So well said, Savetheworld! You’re right about exercise and I say fresh air…I just came inside after pool opening and heavy vacuuming of it… really feels so good and free to be outdoors away from this stuff. I ask all of us this: “What are we doing to ourselves…our children?”

      Like

      • Savetheworld says:

        Thanks Merle48 love reading your comments! Being in nature is healing and great for the soul! 🙂 we all need to be off electric devices and living real lives. We also don’t know the real long term effects of all the electromagnetic fields we are being bombarded with on a daily constant basis. Scary! 🙂 xo

        Like

  4. merle48 says:

    Unfortunately money= support, there is no way around that. People who have the money get the support they need, and communities that raise funds get the support they need. Money rules. No, it is NOT fair! Your energy is well spent when lending an ear to others. I believe the candy crush level you’re on mirrors real life in a sense…stuck on a “plateau” but you will move up, hey, you know yourself..”.it’s a given…” it’s what you you’re made out of, just give it time!

    Like

  5. merle48 says:

    Ok Carol, you asked for some input on “maggots.” I thought of a saying from a Stephen King novel, ”
    “Control the things you can control, maggot. Let everything else take a flying fuck at you and if you must go down, go down with your guns blazing.”

    ― Stephen King, The Drawing of the Three
    Sorry about the curse word, however, in this case I believe it is necessary to get the “effect.” I also reckon you “catch my drift.” ( btw you are NOT the maggot).

    Like

  6. Hamsi says:

    I think all these people posting nasty things are overwhelmed by the anonymity and worthelessness of their own lives….they feel so inadequate that they lash out at anyone who gets attention, even after they are dead. Remember in this day and age fame is the most prized entity. But I understand how hurtful it can be to encounter such comments…let us know how we can help.

    Like

  7. la Punisher says:

    Everything you say Carol is meaningful and important.
    Hugz

    Like

  8. namedallas says:

    I think my conclution is bullying has no bounderies and no age limits .
    Take something for your haedache and get some rest . Good night Carol !

    Like

Leave a Reply

