May 31 – What about social media ….

Social media has its definite pluses and minuses. Today, Facebook was probably having one of those minus days.  Kudos to WAM and everyone else who is in support of getting Facebook to get rid of FB pages that are derogatory in nature. Everything that is derogatory should be taken down whether it is to men, women, youth or children.  It can all be damaging to the emotional psyche.  We shouldn’t have to be looking at pictures or words that are hurtful.  Who gives the right to others to post wreckless and humiliating photos and words?  Once again, is it because one can ‘hide behind the mask’ which is why one does it?  I would love for Chlorox to stand up to Facebook for the hundreds of posts and pictures that are still out there of my daughter.  For one, it is disgusting that people post sh*% out there like that (if your parents knew) and for two, that a site would let it to stay there.  In the next few days, I will be checking some of the many links to see if the posts are still there.  If they are, then …

Interestingly enough, in Canada, there is a case going on now between Brian Burke (former coach of the Toronto Maple Leafs) and anonymous posters on message boards who have defamed him with their words.  According to the articles, Mr Burke can now sue the online commenters even though he doesn’t yet know who they are.  I find this so very interesting as do many of the people I know.

Screen Shot 2013-05-31 at 1.38.46 AM

Facebook is not the only social media site that is guilty of posting derogatory posts.  There are so many sites out there.   Some that are so obscure that you might not have heard of them.  I am sure that someone out there in the technology world must have the ability to develop a good filter system to block unnecessary things coming through the infrastructure.  Is it that hard?  If someone can make over 300++ levels of Candy Crush????   It is time for this insane technology abuse of real people to stop.  We, as concerned people, need to take a step back and look at what we see and what has and is happening.

In the small communities that surround where I live, I hear of stories where the technology seemingly takes over the lives of the kids and adults.  Putting down the devices is hard.

Here is a technology test:   At the dinner table (at home or in a restaurant), put the phones face down in the middle of the table.   Watch how everyone reacts.  Are the eyes and ears riveted to the phones in the middle of the table?  Does the antsy-ness start to appear?  Who will reach first?  Who starts to get annoyed first?  Try this out and post a comment.

Technology was never meant to rule our lives.  I am amazed at those who have not become absorbed in it.  We can’t take the technology away but we can teach ourselves and others how to use it wisely.

A great thing happened tonight.  When my BBBB was in the hospital, I met a retired couple with children my age.  We talked.  I had lunch with the wife while her husband was in surgery.  We parted in saying that we would keep in touch.  Somehow, the wires got crossed.  They Skyped me tonight.  We talked. We laughed.   It was a great conversation.  This is one of the things technology was designed to do — a useful communication tool.  A normal conversation.  We promised to stay in touch better.  🙂

I will go back to my Facebook now and be able to see how many of Amanda’s friends are still awake.  It’s late.  1:57 a.m.  It’s a school day tomorrow.  They say a growing teenager should get 8 hours of sleep.

I am going Candy Crushing.  Still stuck on Level 65.

Night to my Princess Snowflake. Missing her more right now than ever. I look at  her pictures and think that she had so much to look forward to in her life.  If only, she had known…..

Happy dreamz babygirl… xoxo

197816_390148301098634_1151507126_n

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to May 31 – What about social media ….

  1. gookymann says:

    Facebook already has this software they were bragging about it to the EU Parlament.
    Technology exist that can do all this but it costs money and the automobile industry doesen’t want to chase texting fans away.

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    Hands free devices S.CK in my opinion! I have bluetooth in my vehicle…it came with it, and I deplore getting a silly, useless phone call (and yes 99% are) while I’m driving, and I’m singing along to a song I just love, and haven’t heard in a dogs age,,,song interrupted!!! Oh and driving and talking are no better as once I missed an exit on the parkway and had to backtrack five miles and almost missed an important appointment!

    Like

    • Have bluetooth and never use it. I have learned to put my phone on silent and away.

      Like

      • merle48 says:

        Yeah I have it on silent too, because my oldest thinks it is part of my hip and I should be accessible 24/7. Mind you, she’ll be 27! Really not fun when I forget where my phone is and it;s on silent. 😦 If you look at my FB she posted for all to see that I could not be reached this past Sunday…God forbid, I did outside work all day without my phone!haha

        Like

  3. Savetheworld says:

    Yes Carol, they can easily modify their systems. I would also like to see the phone companies creating new applications as well ex. One that shuts off your kids phone during school hours and sleep time. Another that shuts off when you are in your car etc. anything you can think of can be done. Of we yell and scream enough maybe something will be done. Re the stuff on the net, it’s infuriating that stuff should be removed permanently the first time someone complains about it! Be well Carol. Xo

    Like

    • Funny enough, the two suggestions that you made on the blog are ones that I have been whining about. if parents are paying for the cell phone plans, then they should be able to turn them on and off. Especially during important times like school and sleep. Also with driving, it was on the news last night. Are hands free devices really working in the cars? I would say not really. How many really work with only one touch. They should be immobilized when the car is in motion. If it needs to be used, park and get out of the car to use. 20+ years ago, we didn’t have cell phones that could hum, sing and dance for us. We had the Motorola brick phones that were too heavy to hold, talk and drive and they didn’t have speakerphone built in.

      Like

      • Savetheworld says:

        Your blog is always so informative! So glad you are speaking up about these very important and very serious issues! You are our voice. Thank you for all you do. Your strength is astounding! We are all very proud of you. Xo

        Like

Leave a Reply

