June 3 – Thinking about Amanda ….

This is the synopsis of the weekend.  I had to spend Sunday resting my brain and my heart.  As wonderful as it is to go to wonderful events, it is very draining to my brain and my heart.  All these things tell me (and us) that we care as a community and society about how important the causes of bullying/cyberbullying and mental health is.  We have to work even harder to keep the attention up and bring our governments together to focus on them.  Each day I have such wonderful conversations.  But there was one where a teenage girl contacted me via Facebook and was worried about her friend.  Something happened to the girl that I guess was traumatic and she wanted advice on what to do to help.  The answers are what every parent/adult would say.  Tell a safe adult about the problem.  Talk to the parents.  That you can’t not tell anyone just because your friend said she would get mad at you and never talk to you again.  

Voice for the Horse Fundraiser – May 31st – Thank you to Yvonne for putting this on and for Tiffany and Cole for singing your hearts out.  The event brought us closer to understanding the importance of horses in our lives as the empathetic nature of them is so beneficial for children, youth and adults.

The Suicide Prevention Awareness Overnight Walk – June 1st – with Kathryn Perez – Now is the time to join us as we bring national attention to suicide prevention.  The more of us that take part in the Out of the Darkness Overnight Walk this June, the louder our voice will be and the greater our impact will be on our nation’s capital.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 12.34.12 AM

Bikes against Bullies Pub night – June 1st – The pub night went great.  They were able to raise around $2100 that will support Bikes Against Bullies and Amanda Todd Legacy.  There were lots of people at pub night.  It’s funny, more people came up to say hi to me and/or recognized me than them.  Lots of hugs. Lots of talking.  Lots of me ‘giving’ bracelets away.   When random strangers came up to share their stories, it was great.  I met some of the people that I had only talked to on Facebook before.  So great to put a face to a name.  I loved the bagpipes.  And the drummer who accompanied the bagpipest.  To the organizers of the pub night event — BRAVO!! — it was an event well done.  You are now officially the pub night organizers for  ATL.

IMG_2031969087_10152840941425276_745922281_n

Roy Green Radio Talk Show – June 1st – Loved speaking to Roy Green about all the things he is impassioned with.  Also met and will be talking more with Lynn MacIntyre who is a mom that is also advocating for more awareness and changes to the system related to bullying and mental health. Lynn had a son who was bullied and was in a dark place for a time being.  Roy also has a great blog that he posts on.

Emily Isaacson – Book signing in Abbotsford on June 10th – http://www.snowflake-princess.com

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 11.27.24 PM

Sarah K and the Collective Soul – June 13th – https://www.facebook.com/events/177675952383793/ – Sarah K is performing and will be supporting the Amanda Todd Legacy.  This will be her second concert for ATL.  I couldn’t make it to the first one but hope to make it for this one.  Her singing and her songs just get to the inner core of being …

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 1.24.07 AM

Be Bold Campaign – June 15th – https://www.facebook.com/events/224040521053796/ – Be BOLD! is a beautiful graphic campaign that came to fruition only one month ago. The response has been amazing! What started out as an anti-bullying platform, Be BOLD has also evolved into an empowering and positive campaign, to simply encourage everyone to….. Be BOLD! Be BOLD and turn negative words into something beautiful, and take meaningful words and turn them into something even more meaningful.

Screen Shot 2013-06-03 at 1.34.54 AM

Strength Through Love of Books – Vancouver Book Signing Event – October 26/27 – Vancouver BC – https://www.facebook.com/vancouverbooksigning Thank you to Denise for organizing this and bringing me together with such wonderful authors who are moms, sisters, aunts, grandmothers (maybe), etc.  It’s so nice to see this come together and Denise, you did an awesome job on the Facebook Event page with the pictures of the city, Amanda and the snowflake logo design.

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 11.38.37 PM

Note from the kids on Grad Night in Ontario – this is a wonderful story.  I met another new friend in Winnipeg when I went their a few weeks ago (and had my luggage lost and still missing).  It was her son’s grad night the week before last.  I think I wrote about it.  This mom had opened her home up to the kids after their prom dinner/dance.  Although she was sleepless for a good portion of the night, she loved spending the time talking to the graduating teenagers and they were very happy talking to her.  She had emailed me back and told me that the next morning when she woke up, she found a note on her fridge.  This is the note.  I don’t think it needs more explanations.  It just gave me goosebumps and warm fuzzies!!!  Love those teenagers at their brightest and sparkliest moments.

photo-7

Just writing all this about the weekend exhausted me.  People asked me all weekend how do I manage.  I told them the truth. It is the inspiration and hope that Amanda has given me.  Plus what all the people I know that continue to inspire and drive me to go on.  I just want everyone to know, I do melt.  I do cry.  I do get sad.  I did manage a 2 1/2 hour walk today and  I actually like the going uphills. It’s pretty much the same as the battle to get bullying/cyberbullying + youth mental health noticed, talked about and worked on.

Here is the question of the night ….  Why is ‘coffee cake’ called ‘coffee cake’?

Love you all (new and old) … xoxo

969090_10151742392590676_760987310_nScreen Shot 2013-05-04 at 12.50.26 AMScreen Shot 2013-05-04 at 12.50.58 AM

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to June 3 – Thinking about Amanda ….

  1. la Punisher says:

    Translation for Andria:
    Good Night!
    Carol congratulations on your strength .. his fight reaches around the world, their fight his strength makes a difference. HJE just want to thank you for the bracelets. Know those days when you return from work without much cheer I have it but always on 03 / 05/2013 I was well down .. I got home I opened the gate glanced at the mailbox and … tana!! package!! coming directly from Canada to Brazil bracelets and 2 beautiful photos of Amanda … I think I need say no more. kisses thanks
    Love you all Carol Todd’s Blog!

    Like

  2. Andria says:

    Boa Noite !!
    Carol parabéns pela sua força ..sua luta chega em todo o mundo,sua luta sua força faz a diferença .hje só quero agradecer pelos Braceletes .Sabe aqueles dias em que se volta do trabalho sem muito animo eu tenho isto sempre mas no dia 03/05/2013 Eu estava bem para baixo ..entrei em casa abri o portão olhei de relance a caixa de correio e…tana!!!um pacote!!!vindo diretamente do Cánada para o Brasil pulseiras e 2 fotos lindas de Amanda …acho que não preciso dizer mais nada .beijos obrigada
    Amo todos vocês do Blog Carol Todd!!

    Like

    • gookymann says:

      Good Night!
      Carol congratulations on your strength .. his fight reaches around the world, their fight his strength makes a difference. Hey I just want to thank you for the bracelets. Know those days when you return from work without much cheer I have it but always on 03 / 05/2013 I was well down .. I got home I opened the gate glanced at the mailbox and … ta da!! package!! coming directly from Canada to Brazil bracelets and 2 beautiful photos of Amanda … I think I need say no more. kisses thanks
      Love you all Carol Todd’s Blog!

      Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    Why is ‘coffee cake’ called ‘coffee cake’?… Because if you eat it before you retire for the night you can’t sleep..LOL hahaha No..It’s made with coffee or goes good with coffee

    Like

  4. merle48 says:

    I meant “His” mom.

    Like

  5. merle48 says:

    My daughter was in a similar predicament with a close friend of hers. This friend tried to commit suicide last year and almost succeeded. However, they got help, straightened their life out…or so everyone thought, but in the past few months have taken a downward spiral again. Mind you, they started hanging with the same crowd that encouraged the drug use and drinking. Yes, that was ultimately their biggest mistake…to regress with the same people who influenced them in the first place! Anyway, my daughter asked my opinion…”Should I tell his mom what he has been doing?” She was torn between telling…or not because she said his mom wouldn’t believe her. Why wouldn’t his mom believe her, you may ask? Because he was doing so well, and she didn’t have an inkling of him going back to his old ways. Besides, he would just lie and not admit it to her. Well, I told my daughter to tell her because even if she risked this friend hating her for it, and the mom thinking she was causing trouble…she would know in her heart of hearts that she tried…to live with the guilt of doing nothing at all…could/would be a heavy burden to live with if something happens to this person again! By the way, she did tell her mom and her son got very angry…the future of this is unfolding as I write.

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      To merle48: You are very wise and done the right thing by telling your daughter to tell his mom, We need more of that kind of advice… One day that lad just might realize that your daughter did the right thing and that she may have saved his a*s

      Like

      • Tristan says:

        That is so right! you did the right thing! Sometimes through life we are left with options ,,, either going the easy way and doing what is comfortable (doing what we want or not wanting to do) or doing what we ‘HAVE’ to do ‘what we need to do’. He may be upset for now, but at least one day he’ll be able to thank her for looking out for him.
        Carol , what an amazing pile of events taking place in just this short little while. Do find the energy to take some time for yourself! So much going on, you are just keeping as busy as ever. Im totally amazed with all that is going on. So happy to see so many getting involved! wishing for a sunny day for you! 🙂

        Like

  6. Renée B. says:

    I just love this picture of Amanda so much! It looks like she is talking to us….

    Like

  7. la Punisher says:

    Great to see how far and wide the word has spread, You truly done a wonderful job,
    hugz 2U

    Like

  8. Gemma says:

    You’ve done an amazing job carol xx

    Like

  9. gookymann says:

    I wish I could have been there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

