June 26 – Too busy trying to pack …

Not sure where the time went today and tonight but it’s 12:35 a.m. and I still need to pack.  Uggg….. Jim Nico told me tonight that it is 119 degrees in Vegas.   Ouch!!

Maybe I can add some thoughts when I am at the airport tomorrow … or on the plane…

In the meantime, I watched a great TED Talk tonight.  (Maybe that’s why I’m not quite packed yet.)  What truly struck me was how this mother and wife was able to meet with the person who killed her husband and work through the restorative justice structure.  I am assuming that this was her healing process and something that helped the other person.  I very much agree that punitive consequences usually are of no bearing.  It is with the understanding about actions and behaviours that will lead to more positive answers.  This is not saying there will be 100% success with every person.  I believe you have to look at each individual, each situation, each emotional response and then determine if restorative justice will work.

http://restorativeworks.net/2013/06/video-katy-hutchison-at-tedxwestvancouvered-on-restorative-practices-to-resolve-conflict-and-build-relationships/

Screen Shot 2013-06-27 at 12.37.52 AM

 

Watch the video and then put down your thoughts.  Packing time …

xoxo (one more sleep)  I know that PS will be with me on this trip.

IMG_1994

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 26 – Too busy trying to pack …

  1. Savetheworld says:

    I agree Carol! Very well said! Have a wonderful trip and please try to get some R&R as well. Buy one if those little fans that run on batteries at the dollar store!! 🙂 xo

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    A safe trip to you Carol!~ My daughter loves Vegas, hope you do also. You will achieve what you need to there, however, do not forget to try and “chill” (bad word considering weather there now) 🙂 and take it all in…it’s a big world…yet sometimes so small.

    Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    No comment on your post yet… But Happy flight 2U and have a fun time while U R there and remember “What happens in Vegas, Stays in Vegas”, And I’m sure 2 that PS is with you all the way.

    Hugz 2U

    Like

Leave a Reply

