June 29 – Way too hot but is anyone complaining???

For everyone who is not in Vegas …. holy crapola.  It wasn’t this hot 2 years ago.  121 degrees today and it was probably that in the shade too.  Way too hot to breathe even.  It was the first day of the Girls and Bullying Conference with keynote Richard Guerry speaking.  I have to say he is a dynamic speaker with lots of good things to say.  If you ever get a chance to listen to him, hang on to your seats.  He talks really fast.

Richard Guerry.  During one of the breaks, I managed to meet him and later had a sit down talk with him. It was great to be able to talk to someone who understands the landscape of the cyber-technology roadways and the many bumps in the road.  He introduced me to new vocabulary.  What goes on the internet is both ‘Public and Permanent’.  Young people and adults need to know that and we also need to teach the younger generation NOW.  And that in the Global Village, there is a Global Park.  That’s where people are playing but they have to understand the rules and how to behave (eg – digital responsibility).  Check out his links.

Twitter – @MyDigital Safety

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/IROC2.org

Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 11.27.15 PM Screen Shot 2013-06-29 at 11.26.55 PM

 

 

I also had a chance to chat with Barbara Coloroso.  What a wonderful and knowledgeable lady.  Can’t wait to hear her speak tomorrow.  She gave me a signed copy of her book.  🙂

Yesterday I was at the University of Las Vegas doing the radio show which will be posted on The Social Network Station next week sometime.  It was an hour of talking about Amanda, social networking, the ways to educate kids and parents and dreams/visions.  It went by fast. So glad to have that conversation.  Thank you Jim and Dr J for your hospitality.

Tomorrow is another conference day.  Will be going to listen to Lee Hirtsch (director of the Bully movie) and Barbara Coloroso.   It will be another hot day in the city that never sleeps.

 

 

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to June 29 – Way too hot but is anyone complaining???

  1. It was great to have you at the 7th Annual National Conference on Girl Bullying! We’d love to see you again in Chicago next year!

    Like

  2. Tristan says:

    Hope your enjoying the warm weather and having some fun times in Vegas!!! sounds like even when your out on vacation your still working and keeping ever so busy. I hope you take some time to enjoy some slots and some relaxation time. Take some pics while your out that way. Have a good time Carol.

    Like

  3. la Punisher says:

    Hope your getting sometime for R & R … Hugz 2U

    Like

  4. jag72 says:

    Today Carol is to you that I address.
    Very early this morning when I close my computer, I’m on my youtube account to read the latest comments on the videos.
    I noticed a comment from a person I am a subscriber and discovers a surprise that mingled in my heart a feeling of joy (for my situation my personal situation) and fear to find a young girl Youtube 9 years.
    I hate this site request to join it to his Gmail account!
    Dents of this road is the understanding of the rules of confidentiality.
    I heard she had definitely had safety advice by her family but I’m afraid for her.
    Parents know they drive on the information highway?
    If I give myself too much time to learn it too was in the design to protect my family and provide assistance.
    Learn how to track weapons to fight equally against bullies.
    Share this knowledge is a quest.
    I regret that such actions lead me like Jesus.
    Why are good people they rely on The bench charges?
    It is this feeling of rejection is believed to be alone.
    I live another form of tyranny. Adults against adults.

    I beg you, the readers and editors of this blog, leave a message of warning in your own language on her youtube channel.
    http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUSyb261BbH7q7OX2uplAJw/discussion
    She is so proud to be able to communicate with the world in troubled waters.
    It is a call for help that I request.
    Do not be alone to avoid a simple soldier to do this shot by his “army.”

    I hope you understand the message

    Like

Leave a Reply

