July 5 – Back home in the cool air …

What a relief to be back in Vancouver where the air is cooler to breathe in at night (and the day) and the grass and trees are so much greener.  When in Vegas, we did ask the question about if there was a shortage of water, how did the plants and trees grow.  The answer was underground irrigation.  We passed a golf course or two.  Too hot to golf.  Funny enough, we decided to go shopping.  Was told before we left … “Go to the North Outlet”.   So we did.  Uhhh…. no one told it was an outside mall.  Holy guacamole!!  Too hot to walk.  Starbucks sure got a lot of business. But never the less, did shop and buy.  What else to do on a vacation of sorts?  But 120 degrees Fahrenheit which is about 45 degrees Celsius is way too hot. Imagine being in a dry sauna for 24/7.  Thank god for air conditioned hotels.  So unfortunately, the walking journey’s were cut very short.

I am seeing that as I was away, that social media didn’t really stop but gained momentum.  Ask.fm is on the blocks and it continues to rise.  However, along with adult desention (sp??), the media attention is also drawing more teens to the site (I believe).  It is also free publicity.  I just read an article that said that it ask.fm now has “It’s now at 65 million registered users, up from 8 million in June last year, and is adding about 300,000 new users per-day, seeing it garner 190 million unique visitors last month.”    It is hoped that kids will learn to stay off or use with better care.

Not sure if I mentioned that Vegas is a very entertaining city.  I would call it the ‘people watching capital of the world’.  What a sight seeing adventure.  We wondered if all those people who dress up as characters and stand on the strip for photo ops are really really hot in their costumes.

Highlight of the trip was meeting Jim Nico and Dr J and getting their press release on the Wall Street Journal.  I never quite realized that it was an important paper until everyone keep saying it was the epitomy of best.  – http://online.wsj.com/article/PR-CO-20130628-905370.html

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.27.12 AM

Here are some articles about ask.fm:

Ask.fm, the troubling secret playground of tweens and teens
CNET
Insanely popular with kids, the question-and-answer service thrives on anonymity, making it fun and dangerous. by Jennifer Van Grove Spy on Ask.fm’s public 
Personal Q&A Site Ask.fm Is Growing At A Clip Amid Media Backlash 
TechCrunch
Ask.fm, the Latvian startup that’s been left carrying the personal Q&A torch after its inspiration, Formspring, pivoted to pastures new, is continuing to 

http://www.business2community.com/social-media/ask-fm-parents-of-teens-greatest-nightmare-0542662

Is it kid curiosity or meanness that they go onto a website like this to fling about abuse to others?  In Vegas, I learned that there really is not such thing as anonymous.  We just think that there is.  But if you read the fine print, anything and everything can be told out loud on every site if there is something posted that is derogatory in nature.  Read the Terms of Use/Agreement – http://ask.fm/about/tos

Screen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.33.52 AMScreen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.34.01 AMScreen Shot 2013-07-05 at 2.34.14 AM

 

 

So saying that, it’s time to look up the other terms of agreement from the other sites.

Day 1 of trying to recuperate after Vegas.  Missed the sunshine but not the hot today.  Weird thing, I found the item below in my suitcase after I got home.  Not sure how it got there.  I know that TSA did search my luggage but all they would find was the 12 bottles of shampoo/contioner and soap I bought from the hotel gift shop.  It’s the best smelling stuff from the Mirage.  But read the message on the bottom of black envelope.  And someone said that the top design could be a snowflake.  And there are 12 rhinestone beads.  Too weird and eerie….

IMG_2294

 

Happy dreams everyone…. xoxo

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to July 5 – Back home in the cool air …

  1. Savetheworld says:

    Definitely a sign ! Not the first, not the last. She is definitely around you. 🙂 xo

    Like

  2. Tristan says:

    Glad you had a wonderful time in Vegas,, also glad you received all your luggage back this time around. That discovered item in your luggage is quite eerie,, id say definitely another sign from PS letting you know she was with you on your trip. And yes, that is definitely a Snowflake image.

    Like

  3. Niall McDade says:

    I thought that was very freaky finding that item in your luggage! It reminded me of the story when the snowflake carousel on your mantel started to spin by itself without the candle being lit underneath! Both stories make me wonder.
    Does anyone know what the item in the picture is? So far, all I know is that Miss Me is a jeans company using gothic font for the m’s, hence the TM. And btw, that symbol on top is eerily reminiscent of a snowflake! It must be an accessory satchel of some kind for a hair brush or sunglasses?
    Between this and losing your luggage on your recent trip to Winnipeg, I’m starting to wonder if Princess Snowflake is having some fun with her mom during her travels? 🙂

    Thanks for sharing that story Carol and I’m glad that you made it home safe and sound.

    Like

  4. velvet says:

    BTW I really hope u don’t think I’m that Phillip Rose, I don’t know if u can see what country/place ur commenters are from. But I wouldn’t post this either ’cause he’ll obviously start going off on his creep blog again.

    Like

  5. jag72 says:

    Inquiétant dites vous ?
    Pourquoi ce 4 juillet une chanson pleine de sens m’est revenue ?
    J’ai dis à deux de mes amis que j’avais eu le sentiment que A. me l’avait soufflée . 😮
    Me dire ” Attention tu m’oublie ! Il est temps de faire quelques chose pour moi .”
    Je suis rentré de mon travail et me suis mis à l’ouvrage d’une vidéo .
    De la conception à la mise en ligne j’y suis passé neuf heure .
    Je l’ai montré à Renee qui veux la publier sur son compte Youtube .
    La condition de ce “cadeau” est de la publier en publique pour le 10 juillet .
    Mon impatience me donne envie de vous la partager pour vous Carol , mais je ne puis le faire.
    j’ai ressenti ce message si fort que je l’interprète comme suis :

    ” you think of “spirits” can send you a message?
    kind
    hey you you stopped thinking about me!
    But listen to this song
    thou have in your computer so why not make a new video before July 10
    So I started to sing and Amanda returned.”

    Même si cette Anglais n’est pas correcte , mon cœur et mon âme reste fidèle à mes sentiments et à Amanda.

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      Translation for jag72:
      Worrying you say?
      Why this July 4th a song full of meaning came back to me?
      I told two of my friends that I felt that A. I had blown. : o
      Say “Warning you forget me! It is time to do some thing for me. ”
      I returned to my work and myself set to work with a video.
      From design to the online I passed nine hours.
      I showed it to Renee who want to publish on its Youtube account.
      The condition of this “gift” is to publish public for July 10.
      My impatience makes me want you to share you Carol, but I can not do.
      I felt this message so hard that I’m interpreting it as:

      ” you think of “spirits” can send you a message?
      kind
      hey you you stopped thinking about me!
      But listen to this song
      thou have in your computer so why not make a new video before July 10
      So I started to sing and Amanda returned.”

      Even if English is not correct, my heart and soul remains faithful to my feelings and Amanda.

      Like

  6. la Punisher says:

    Welcome back Carol, Its nice to be able to read your posts again, Gotta admit I did miss them.
    Hugz 2U

    Like

  7. velvet says:

    so glad ur back so we get blog updates. What is that thing in ur suitcase, that is way too creepy with the ‘do you miss me’ — but what was it supposed to be

    Like

Leave a Reply

