July 11 – The Bench and memories …

There were visitors to the bench today and tonight.  Friends of Amanda’s went past it.  Some of my grown up friends took a drive up to the park to walk their pets.  They put snowflakes/flowers/balloons on the bench.  While I was at the park today, I saw a dear friend sitting on the bench.  She had brought her snowflake candles but the wind was not participating.  Or it was Amanda blowing them out.  Reminds me of the birthday cake days when she had to blow out her candles but she wanted wishes.  When there were fewer candles due to a young age, they blew out easy.  However, there were no wishes.  So …. we had to light them again.  There was also those photo ops that needed to be had.  Reminds me of the time when my gf’s son had his birthday cake and he blew out all his candles.  Ummm… that is another different story.

As we were leaving the park tonight, there was a man with his two dogs.  In his hands was a branch with leaves while he passed  us walking his dogs.  He saw Amanda’s bench.  He stopped to read the plaque on it.  He propped the branch on the bench, then continued on his journey.   It was a warm feeling.  That a random stranger in the park stopped to read what was on the bench and then did what he did.

The geese and ducks seem to hand around that area right now too.

There were many pics posted today.  Thank you to everyone who thought about Amanda today.  Thanks to all of Amanda’s friends who also thought about her.  Believe it or not, the strength that is gained is wonderful.  I was able to open the door to her bedroom today.

Also, Amanda’s other dog Charlie, who is staying with us, has taken a liking to Amanda’s stuffies.  That is not so good a thing.  We are having to find them around the house (not chewed but licked).

And .. thank you to Emily and Sarah’s mom for delivering cake to my house at 2 a.m.  Woweee… what great friends there are out there!!

Tomorrow is another day!  Tired and going to bed.

Hugz and a bonne nuit!!  xoxo

IMG_2343IMG_23481045004_295888177224127_1429811302_n

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July 11 – The Bench and memories …

  1. la Punisher says:

    I.m with you on that merle48 and when I think of the injustice done to this child my blood just boils.
    ‘RIP sweetheart, We Love You’

    Hugz 2U Carol

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    Never does a day go by that I do not turn my thoughts to your daughter. She truly lives in my heart, and I am at peace with that, as my eyes are wide open now.

    Like

  3. H.I.D. says:

    “Or was it Amanda blowing them out”
    That brought a smile to my face.

    Beautiful Precious Innocent Child.
    Forever Loved Forever And Forever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

