August 23 – When it feels right …

I was at MacDonald’s the other day with Rob for lunch.  I got a coffee with my long awaited Big Mac.  (Yes, the same one I never got a month ago.)  Sitting behind me at MacD’s was a man (let’s call him Bob) on his own.  I can only presume he was homeless as he had his plastic bags stashed outside the doors.  When I walked past Bob, he asked me if I wanted the coffee sticker on my coffee cup.  He was very polite.  I gave it to Bob because I can never remember where I put the stickers anyways.

As we ate lunch, Bob sat quietly sat talking to himself.  I heard him behind me.

At the moment, I realized all the things that I had.  My kids had.  And even my selected friends.  Although we work to get our things, they come with ease.

I have never come close to worrying about the next meal or anything close.  I thought that if I was able to spend $5 on a Starbuck’s special coffee without a thought, then Bob could possibly benefit more.  So I ended up giving him $5.  Not much but enough for then.  It really didn’t matter to me what he would use the money for.  Some people say — “They will use it for smokes or alcohol.”

Seeing the big smile on Bob’s face was enough.   It was just a RAK (Random Act of Kindness) that we should all do more often.

 Later that day, I saw Bob in downtown Port Coquitlam.  He was in front of the local bakery eating a  cream filled dessert.  Maybe that’s what he spent the money on.
No matters, he was enjoying what he was eating immensely!!
Thank you Bob for helping me to change my thoughts!!!
1146652_10151536330685776_609242049_n
About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to August 23 – When it feels right …

  1. Keep paying it forward Carol. Thank you for sharing such a great story.

    Like

  2. H.I.D. says:

    When I subscribed to the newspaper, weeks later in the mail, came a “movie pass”
    for 2 adult admissions, drinks, popcorn. I don’t go to the movie theater, but just recently
    I gave this movie pass to a young person who I thought that liked going to the movies.

    This young person had the biggest smile on her face. She did take her friend to the movies.
    When I was around 5 yrs, 2 things were instilled in me by my Father.
    #1…. “Do unto others, as you wish were done unto you”
    #2…. “If you have nothing good to say to others…….. then say nothing at all”.

    Like

  3. merle48 says:

    How Bob must have enjoyed that “cream-filled dessert!” Reminds me of a time I went to a ballgame, and ventured across the street to my favorite pub beforehand. When I finished my meal and went outside to cross the street with an almost full beer in hand, I came across an older (definitely homeless) gentleman sitting in a chair with a sign that read, “Need Beer.” I proceeded to put a $5 bill in his one hand, and my almost full beer in his other hand…the look on his face was priceless, and made my day more so than the fact that my favorite team won! What is better in this life than bringing moments of joy to others?!

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      Thumbs up to you merle48, The way I see it you have one of two choices… you can make it into Hell on earth by being selfish, greedy, obnoxious, ignorant. etc. or you can make it into Paradise by loving your fellow human being and showing it, The choice was given to each of us at birth to pick a side and step along

      Like

  4. la Punisher says:

    I must say that I am totally proud of you for that unselfish act, If there were more people doing
    Random Act’s of Kindness as you did to this fellow human being this world would return to a once again beautiful place to be. And also to mention the wonderful feeling of satisfaction one receives when a act of kindness has been performed to another living soul.. Thank you Carol

    Have a great Safe trip to Calgary
    Peace and Hugz go with you

    Like

  5. Hamsi says:

    Carol, you touched on the power of random acts of kindness and you are so right! As for me, given the world we live in, I will be happy just to see fewer random acts of unkindness!

    Like

  6. jag72 says:

    Yes love his neighbor to overcome the indifference .

    Like

Leave a Reply

