2012 to 2013 to 2014 in a blink …

2013 is almost over.  2014 is almost upon us and probably is in other countries by now.

Lots to say. Where to start. How to show appreciation to everyone. How to ignore those that have been negative. Life has taken on so many different shades of purple in the past year.  There have been ups and downs.  We have all learned many things watching the news around the world.  In our own countries.  On social media.

I have met so many wonderful people this year that have touched my heart.  People of all ages and from all different cultures of life.  In my travels, hugs are are what has become customary, expected and the unspoken language.  Many of these people, I have continued to stay in touch with.  As my list grows longer, I find it harder to maintain my notes and I only hope they drop me messages and emails just to say hi and not think that I have forgotten them or am ignoring them.  I have found that maintaining contact even over a telephone is hard.  I am so accustomed now to having a few conversations on the go at the same time.  (Thank goodness I took typing in grade 9.  For those of you remember the non-electric typewriters?)

For some, I have been able to connect and enjoy a coffee, tea or grape juice with them.  With others, it might be coffee in front of our computers with some kind of messaging between us.  Time zones are of no difference. We share virtual hugs, tears, joys and laughter. It’s all the same no matter what part of the world.

Some have shared the same losses while others have not and it is hoped, never will.  There have been teens and young adults that have made contact to just share what they are feeling. There are parents who have contacted to just be able to talk freely with another person who might understand.  I am the first one to say, not all social media is bad.  There are many groups that have been formed in Facebook for whatever a persons passion might be.  There are pages set up for grieving parents.  It not only saddens me the loss of life, but the loss of the life of someone’s child – whether it be to a medical condition or from a mental illness.

I will be thinking about my personal goals for 2014 along with the goals for Amanda’s Legacy. I hope that each and every one of you can be there with me as we work together in 2014 to make more of a difference in the world and will write a different post. 

I posted the following message on my Facebook about 20 minutes ago about all the angels that we love and care about:

After reading my FB wall this morning, I had to write these words. It is directed to anyone who has lost someone they loved but primarily for those who have lost their child in 2013.

The posts all had the same resonance. Sadness. Emptiness. A horrible year. How can one possible move on to 2014? 

I remember what it felt like a year ago and want to share. I had the same feelings, thoughts and words. It was hard to see 2012 leave and 2013 enter. As midnight approached, it got harder and harder and I can attest that I was a train wreck. 

The emotions are so hard to describe. It is like leaving something behind. But there is no control. Hours, minutes and days continue to move ahead. It is us as bereaved parents that have our memories. We know we have to move forward and so we do. We have each other here as support and I can honestly say that hearts have been opened so much.

Every date is a hard one. I think this one is particularly hard as we don’t want to ever forget. And we won’t. That is what social media has allowed us – to keep our good memories in concrete. 

To those parents who are experiencing their first NYE without their angels, what you think and feel is so very normal. We will all be here for each other as the clock strikes 12 no matter where you live. I’m sure I won’t be in the ‘good place’ either and will be glad when it is tomorrow already.

Wishing everyone a safe and peaceful NYE!! xoxo

IMG_3935        1538915_376904915786888_1371054944_n        IMG_3927

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2012 to 2013 to 2014 in a blink …

  1. Hi Carol
    I responded to your email to me but for some reason, my computer will not let me send so I am unsure as to how to contact you. Can you send me another email at sharonrosenfledt@rogers.com Did your email change since you sent me an email on December 3/2013.

    Sharon Rosenfeldt
    President
    Victims of Violence
    613 233-0052 (office)
    613 492-1200 (home office) easiest to reach me at
    613 762-0765 (Blackberry)

    Like

  2. Andria says:

    I just have something to say Thank you for everything you did, despite his suffering you made ​​a difference for millions of people in all countries … I will continue here!
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥
    I ♥ ♥ Staying Strong
    ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

    Like

  3. Nancy Bragg says:

    thank you!!!!!!!!! oxox

    Like

  4. la Punisher says:

    Great Post Carol.. And also a ‘Happy New Year’ to you an Rob
    You done a wonderful job this year (2013) … Hope its as great in the new one
    Ϡ₡♥ށStaying Strong in 2014ܢϠ₡־♥
    Hugz 2U

    Like

    • @happyiggy says:

      hey if u r still on twitter pls get ahold of me. Need to chat w u about something u may have knowledge of from back a few months ago. thank you

      Like

Leave a Reply

