The visit to the Maritimes (Part 1)

Reminder #1 – Never again take a red-eye flight

I thought that taking a late night red eye flight would be a great experience.  I didn’t want to waste my daylight hours flying.  So I would start the journey flying out of Abbotsford.  Monday night at 9:15 pm.  3 changeover stops – one in Calgary, one in Toronto and then landing in Halifax on Tuesday morning at 10:00 a.m.  I imagined that it would be quiet flying on an airplane at night.  And that you can sleep on the plane at night because they keep it dark.  And most people are tired so they sleep.  Boy was I WRONG!!  This plan did not work for me at all.

Firstly, it wasn’t quieter at all. The guys sitting in front of me (and it was 2:30 a.m.) were having the greatest animated conversation ever.  Whatever stories they were telling each other was really funny.  Too each other.  Strike 1.

Secondly, there was the fellow that sat beside me on one of the flights there.  (FYI – I was on the window seat)  He was nice enough. Didn’t snore.  Didn’t try to talk.  But he sat like a ‘guy’ and then used both armrests for his arms.  He also smelled like baby powder.  Maybe I was being hypersensitive but it was strong. Strike 2 for me.

Thirdly, I had seen the following weekend the movie Non-Stop with Liam Neeson.  You know, it was one of those disaster movies.  Plane gets hijacked in the sky. Pilot dies while flying the plane.  Not the best movie to see before flying across Canada.  Strike 3.  (Am I out yet? No, still on that plane.)

I survived the stopovers.  The backpack seemed to get heavier with each new airport.  I was definitely getting more tired.

I arrived in Halifax.  Got picked up at the airport.  But best laid plans, too tired too sleep.  10 a.m. Halifax time is 6 a.m. Vancouver time.  Uhhh… it’s breakfast and coffee time.  Well if that doesn’t perk you up.  So I went out for breakfast/lunch, had the coffee and then (you know it), awake time.  Looked at the itinerary.  Had an interview at  CTV Atlantic for 6 pm. so had to look bright eyed and bush tailed.

CTV Atlantic –  click here 

Screen Shot 2014-03-23 at 10.46.50 PM

 

 

I haven’t watched the whole interview but have watched snippets.  I stop at the part when I think I am going to cry.  But .. saying that … what I said was all true.  Amanda started with a mission in mind and left it for me to get others to help get the job done.

The evening ended with meeting Lester.  Unfortunately,  Lester is .. errr was … one of my fav foods for dining.  And everyone around me always do say …. make sure you do something for yourself.  Hmm…. sorry Lester, they told me to do it.  You were yummy.  But I did take a photo of you so I could show you off.   (I also have a whole history lesson on lobster catching.)   With the help of friends, I am hoping that some of Lester’s siblings can join me in Vancouver in the summer.  Thoughts anyone???

IMG_4350     IMG_4352

 

Part Two: Lobster catching, Looking for Moose (tomorrow)

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The visit to the Maritimes (Part 1)

  1. la Punisher says:

    Great interview Carol, Happy to see your still fighting the good fight and you refreshed my thoughts on Amanda and her experience which also refreshed my tears… Thank you I needed that
    Hugz2u

    Like

  2. Tristan says:

    Wow, Carol, didn’t realize you had to go through so much just to get here (in the east) :(. It sounds like it was a very tiring experience for the first half. Just couldn’t imagine, the interviews and presentations and people to see without a drop of sleep?? (Yikes!) You soldiered right on through it though. That is an excellent interview with Steve Murphy, he is and always was such a good interviewer and definitely an anchor spokesperson for the Maritimes. Lester looks some yummy! i couldn’t get over the price difference we were talking about in Lobster from eastern Canada compared to western Canada (and we complain that its too high!) lol. Im so happy you finally got down this way and seen the eastern side of the Country. (for once, we actually had conversations in the same timezone) 🙂 Looking forward to hearing more on your trip.

    Like

Leave a Reply

