April 16 – …::: XOXO Entertainment Corp. & Modern Ladies of Influence :::…

The 3rd Annual Apres-Work: Spring Fever “Mingle with a Purpose” & Fundraiser for the Amanda Todd Legacy – Staying Strong!
Please join us Friday, May 9th at Xi Shi Lounge at the Shangri-La Hotel downtown Vancouver from 5:30 pm – 3:00 am for canapes, duelling pianos, a dj, and an auction of amazing prizes!! 

This is a networking event in conjunction with our intent to continue to help families that have suffered a loss due to bullying and continue raising awareness.
Attendance to this event is by DONATION at the door and all prizes auctioned off will go towards the Amanda Todd Legacy.
Details and rsvp below.   Looking forward to mingling with a purpose!!Rinaisan AngelAdam H. Hurstfield and Carol ToddPlease SHARE this with your friends, families and colleagues and make it go VIRAL!!

#ATLegacymingle #vancouverevents #mloi #xoxoentcrop #sfm2014yvr#minglewithapurpose

#networkingevent #celebrationofcollaboration#raisingawareness #antibullying

#amandatoddstrong #amandatodd#raiselove #fundraiser

Rinaisan Angel's photo.
About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to April 16 – …::: XOXO Entertainment Corp. & Modern Ladies of Influence :::…

  1. Mike says:

    Hi Carol, I’ve been trying to think of ways to contact you and thought that this was the best way. Recently, with the good news that they perhaps have found the one responsible for hurting your daughter and many other individuals out there just like her. Because of this, Amanda’s name and story has resurfaced. However, for the past two years it has largely been vacant in other areas of Canada.

    As a person who has played countless hours of online games, both on gaming consoles and computer I have run into numerous troubled individuals (be it, boys, girls, children, adults). While I do my best to help them out and keep the relationship impersonal (no pictures, no livefeed chatrooms, no facebook), sometimes they demand that I add them on skype to keep in contact with them. They are very open and quickly become very comfortable with me, even though I consistantly tell them that I am 25 and they shouldn’t be sharing their personal information with anyone, including me. I often struggle with whether or not to compliment and befriend them (I normally do), because very often they are bullied outside, away from the internet. While I would never exploit or do anything to hurt them, they become very vulnerable very quickly. I guess what I am saying is there is every opportunity out there for children and adolescence to be exploited the way Amanda was, today.

    I’m reaching out to you now, because well I do care about the individuals that I come in contact with, or those that I haven’t that are struggling and need someone. I’ve seen firsthand how many people are vulnerable online. As Amanda did, they normally turn to the internet. I firmly believe that there needs to be an incredible more amount of time teaching kids to stay safe on the internet and their cell phones. We spend all the time trying to teach the adults on how to supervise, and react to the stories of heartache, but so little time on the prevention of such things. As well, sexting (sending pictures over cell phones) has become a prevalent topic among high school kids according to several newscasts.

    Perhaps a curriculum of study at school (grade 6 & 9), as well as an ad campaign should be how to properly utilize technology (internet & cellphones) and be safe, using stories such as Amanda and other girls who have been through it. I would like to see this instituted nationally and eventually globally. As well, these children should be taught to love themselves, so they don’t need attention from the unforgiving internet or even their peers. No girl (or guy) should ever feel obligated/pushed to show any private areas of their body to anyone else, especially when it can be recorded.

    I saw Amanda’s story and was moved by it. She was incredibly creative in the delivery of her message, and hopefully able to reach others and stop them from going down the same road as her. I know based on the amount of people who copied her that she reached an audience that was currently vulnerable and going down the same road. I was hoping that she has now given us a platform to champion this, and well I’m not sure if you agree with my view on things but i feel it would be a great step in the right direction.

    My regards,
    Mike

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    Wishing this event great success

    Like

Leave a Reply

