Words of Inspiration from Justin Preston

I have met so many wonderful and great people but when I first started talking to @Justin Preston who founded Rise Against Bullying, I knew he was truly a leader and a champion.   As we sat in Tim Horton’s (the Canadian version of Dunkin’ Donuts to those in the U.S.)  and talked about him, and then me, and then him again and then about what he was doing – I could see the excitement he had to be sitting and finally meeting me.  (Justin – do you remember your words to me that day?)

It was so cool to be sitting in his hometown.  He told me about his early teenagehood and how that affected him.  He told me about his later teenage years.  Such harshness and uncaring from others.  But Justin continues to battle his way through that darkness that he experienced in a positive way.  There will always be bumps in the way but he has been able to use the positive messages he gives out and the way the youth that he speaks to embrace his message.  (Make sure to go to Justin’s You Tube channel to see his many messages.)

If I could have only bottled up the energy and sunshine he exuded.  The time together was way too short as the journey back to where I was staying was about 2 hours.  BUT —- I was so glad to have been able to be with Justin for the time that we did.  He thinks he has gathered so much from me.  I have gathered so much from him.  Plus he promised that he would look into going back to school.

Justin promised that he would help with Light Up Purple 2014 and he did just that.  He managed to help get the Peace Bridge which spans across Fort Erie, Ontario to Buffalo, New York lit up purple for this coming October 10th.  I am proud.  Amanda would be prouder.

Love you Justin.  And with our promise, we have continued to keep in touch every few days.  xoxo

Screenshot 2014-07-20 22.59.14

 

 

 

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words of Inspiration from Justin Preston

  1. Hamsi says:

    Great post! And a big thank you to Jason for helping to light up the world purple……..

    Like

Leave a Reply

