World Suicide Prevention Day – September 10th

It’s funny how things happen on the 10th.  It’s been 23 months and as much as some might imagine that it gets easier without your child, it sometimes gets harder.  You only imagine what it is that is missing.  This past week, many parents who have lost their child due to suicide due bullying and/or mental health issues have been emotionally suffering their losses. For some, it has been a many year.  For others, it has been few years or only one year.  Either way, it is a HARD path to walk down.  One that says, keep the super soft tissue coming.

Yesterday I was interviewed by Suzanne who is the founder of Conspiracy of Hope.  She told me her story and shared tidbits of her awareness campaign.  I shared some of my stories about Amanda.  Two people sitting in a kitchen talking about life.  The tragedies.  And the joys.  Who could ever imagine?

Death changes a person.  Sometimes for the better.  Sometimes not.  For me, it has made me a much stronger person.  The adversities that come in the way.  The people you meet along the journey.  As I have said before, some are great. Some not so great.  But it is all here for us to learn from.

Two weeks ago, I received an email from Mary to write a blog post for Write Paragraphs about suicide.  I thought about and said yes. But during the two weeks, so many thoughts went through my head about why to write about.   I have to say honestly, it was not as easy as it may have sounded.  I procrastinated until the day before it was to be sent to Mary.  My friends messaged me everyday to see if it was written.  They were happy to know the day I had finished the first draft.

Screenshot 2014-09-11 01.54.35

In the post, I wrote about what SUICIDE is and also my thoughts toward the ‘S’ word.  No one can even begin to imagine how close I am to this subject which has made me even more passionate about advocating for SPEAKING UP, TALKING OUT AND SUPPORTING OTHERS.

LET’S TALK ABOUT SUICIDE –  hosts on for World Suicide Prevention Day

After today, the next date on the calendar of significance is October 10th – World Mental Health Day.  It will also be the 2 year date that Amanda took her own life. A life that was way too short.  In the coming 30 days, I will be posting articles and information on mental health and mental wellness on this blog. On the Amanda Todd Legacy Society website. On Twitter – @AToddLegacy.

IMG_5274

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to World Suicide Prevention Day – September 10th

  1. Hamsi says:

    Hello Carol, it still gives me a jolt to see the picture of this young girl asking why she is still here. I can’t even imagine the desperation that gives people the yearning to end their lives. Please continue to speak and ask us for help when you want. We will continue to follow you and support you.

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    Oh Carol, have no doubts about your efforts! You are doing positive things in effort to help others who suffer with suicidal thoughts, and those who have suffered the loss of their loved ones through the same devastating choice. Mental illness is simply an “unwell” mind. It needs more addressing than it is given, just as diabetes receives or cancer. Our ” minds” are WHO we are, our very essence. How can this be ignored or at the very least taken lightly? You are to be commended for putting others first, as you must also deal with your own heartache. I don’t know that I would be up to the task.

    Like

    • la Punisher says:

      2nd post, Don’t know where the first went.. But… Yes, merle48.. I’m with you on that and yes Carol really has put her heart into what she has accomplished and really does deserve to be commended, Good 4u Carol and Hugz 2U

      Like

Leave a Reply

