Letter to my daughter – November 3, 2014

Dear Amanda

I have spent so many days and nights lately thinking about you.  It often still seems surreal.  Maybe because we talk about you often in the good way that you brought smiles and joy into our lives along with the frustration and stubbornness.  Just yesterday, there was another U.S. based article that reminded everyone about the way you were cyberabused online.  Does Iggy Azalea’s Halloween Costume Triumph over Cyber-bullying or Normalize It?  And there was your image from your You Tube video.  It haunts us all still whether we could have helped you more if we knew the amount of hurt you were going through.   Your video is a stern reminder of what every person needs to do and that is to be more caring to others.

Screenshot 2014-11-03 00.57.37

The other day I was in one of your fav stores – Michael’s Crafts.  I was buying some containers for more positive awareness handouts.  When I was ready to leave the cash area, the lady who was serving me handed me the receipt.  She also took my hand, looked me in the eyes and said ‘Thank you for all you do to make us not forget Amanda’s name and what happened.’  I was stunned, surprised, happy and tearful in a matter of 30 seconds.  Stunned because I was recognized.  Surprised that she was courageous enough to say something.  Happy that you are not forgotten.  Tearful because it made me miss you.  A Wow moment for me!!

Today I went to another event called G-Day for Girls.  It was an event for Girl Empowerment. You would have liked it.  It much similar maybe to when you went to sessions put on by Saleema Noon.  At G-Day, there were lots of activities and times for the girls to group together to do activities, talk, dance, sing, and so much more.
Screenshot 2014-11-03 01.07.13

Tomorrow there is another event to attend that will once again honour the work that is being done against bullying and to remember you as one of the young people that have made others sit up a bit straighter when they listen to your story as told by me or your video.  I can’t say it gets any easier but you give me strength my lovely.

Always watch over the ones that you love and care about.

Till next time,

Love Mom xoxo

#SayItWithSnowflakes

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Letter to my daughter – November 3, 2014

  1. Hamsi says:

    Michael’s! How supremely normal and well adjusted this girl was, before events shattered her life….. I can well imagine that she brought a lot of smiles and joy into your lives. And she continues to inspire people to this day. You honor her memory every time you speak out, and you help others as well. Keep going!

    Like

  2. Hi there! I wrote the article you referenced. Amanda’s story greatly effected me, as it did many people. I feel very strongly that this is something we need to aggressively address with youth today. Would love to chat at some point in the future if you’re ever up for it. Thanks 🙂

    Like

  3. merle48 says:

    Yes” thankful for all you do!” Amanda has her footprint embedded in the sidewalk of life. Her impact cannot be denied. Keep writing your thoughts and feelings, I hope it helps you in some healing kind of way.

    Like

  4. la Punisher says:

    I love reading your blog and still check it every day for new posts and each new one touches my heart, Don’t ever give it up and above all else… ‘Stay Strong’ Hugz 2U Carol …. Keep up the excellent work We need more peoples like you in this forsaken place…

    Like

Leave a Reply

