Vibrations of Hope – 11/04/14

Dear Amanda,

Tonight I was invited by Colin Sprake to the Make Your Mark Gratitude Event.  I met Colin back in February of 2013 at an event held in honour with Evander Holyfield. That seems like so long ago.  I have to thank Colin for his Inspiration of Hope tonight. He told his story of his own personal bullying and suicidal thoughts. He triumphed over the despair and has made it his world to help others be the best they can be. Also a personal thank you for always remembering Amanda and her legacy.

Thinking back about how life was a total blur back then.  Not really understanding the depth of what was going on and now thinking back, the haze was so thick.  Everything in your honour sounded like a great idea.  Now two years later as the fog has somewhat lifted, it can only be imagined what has gone on in the past two years.  Someone at tonight’s event reminded me of the first public event that I attended.  It was a Mommy’s Bloggers event held at the end of October.  Adam H and Elise Estrada also attended that event with me.  That would have been 3 weeks after your death.  I can’t even remember most of it.  Even harder yet, how did I manage to go up and talk about you, your smiles, our tears, our lives, your death.

(Side note – Every purchase of the song “Wonder Woman” on iTunes gets donated to the Amanda Todd Legacy Society. https://itunes.apple.com/…/wonder-woman-dedicat…/id573018676)

What I do know is that the reaction of the people listening back then is still the same reaction as what I still hear now.  There are still so many people that get emotional when they talk about you.   They recall exactly when they saw your video.  They remember the news coverage in horrific detail,  I am sure that they remember more than me.  I am reading articles now that I never read before.

So what did I get out of tonight’s event.  I got that there are lots of people out there with HOPE.  HOPE that life will change for the better by speaking up.  HOPE that we can make it much easier for kids to feel safe.  Better yet, anyone that is bullied whether they are young or old – there is always HOPE.  HOPE for change.  I took snowflakes with me tonight.  Told the story about why SNOWFLAKES are important.  And shared #SayItWithSnowflakes.

These HOPES and DREAMS are all because of you Amanda because you wanted to help other kids.

You keep us STRONG!!

Love Mom xoxo

10755012_10203103269813886_53038408_n

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vibrations of Hope – 11/04/14

  1. Hamsi says:

    Thanks for reintroducing us to “Wonder Woman”. That song really touched me when I first heard it.
    I can only echo the words of the two before me and say keep on doing what you are doing, Carol. There are many, many out there who need the help.

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    Amanda’s dream of helping other kids is coming true, What a wonderful outcome to a terrible tragedy more and more kidz are being helped everyday.. Keep up the great work

    Like

  3. merle48 says:

    ” How did I manage to go up and talk about you?” Maybe your inner strength took hold, and if it hadn’t, you couldn’t have done it? Maybe Amanda’s spirit inspired you? Or maybe you’re just that kind of person who knew the importance in sharing your tragedy? Maybe it’s just plain old destiny? Maybe it’s all of the above? I only wish your destiny could have been reached in a more comfortable way! For all the people who say “bullying” has reached it’s peak and waned in exposure, this is a fallacy. It never ends, as the cycle continues because for some it is learned behavior, sometimes as we’ve said, from adults, the politicians, the entertainment world, war, and on and on. There is a lot of work to do isn’t there? Let’s start with our own children. Please continue Carol, and accomplish what many of us were not destined to do although our intentions are the same, our impetus differs.
    “When the world says, “Give up,”
    Hope whispers, “Try it one more time.”
    ~Author Unknown

    Like

Leave a Reply

