A surprise thank you …. 12/20/14

When you don’t expect something, it usually takes you by surprise.

As my friends have witnessed, this Christmas has been a hard one.  For some reason, missing Amanda has been harsher this Christmas and it is the third one.  It was only today that I have started thinking about shopping for gifts for my family.

The months of October and November have been hard for me emotionally.  December with Christmas has been even harder.  So today I ventured out with the traffic and the people.  I went to Chapter’s which is a bookstore for those not from Canada.

As I was wandering around looking for things to possibly buy as gifts, a woman came up to me and asked if I was …  I knew what she was meaning.   She apologized for interrupting my shopping and disturbing me.  I reassured her it was okay.  She then thanked me for sharing Amanda’s story and helping so many others out there. Especially girls. She has noticed many more girls and families coming forward and seeking help after being victimized by others (boys and girls).  That is a good thing.  That is why there is Amanda’s Legacy —–> ‘The Dream of Helping Kids’.  This lady also noticed the strength of Amanda’s message in her video.  The one that stated to others – ‘EFF OFF’.  I have said that all along but it sure felt good to get it validated by someone else.

This is for you Amanda. #SayItWithSnowflakes

IMG_1569

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A surprise thank you …. 12/20/14

  1. You never know whose life you and Amanda have touched. You have saved lives and if not for you there would be more children missing Christmas with families and some adults too. Thank you Carol for being stronger than you need to be.

    Like

  2. merle48 says:

    You are right about “eff off.” Sometimes putting things bluntly is the ONLY thing that “others” understand.

    Like

  3. You are amazing Carol and what you do continue to amaze me daily. I love you for your strength and how you carry yourself through all of this and come out on top for Amanda!
    You will always have my support. I sometimes read your blogs to inspire me to keep going and never give up. I struggle daily with inward struggles that I don’t know how to open up about and you write a blog and I feel the positive energy from it and helps me to change my thinking.
    Love you Carol please keep up the amazing work you do
    Love Christy

    Like

  4. Thinking of you Carol… and your dear Amanda…May your friends and family ,and online friends, ease your sorrow , and make your Christmas without her a little bit easier.. ..Every day, without my son, is a constant struggle, you give me hope….Thanks for all you do to help others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

