LOVE IT when a young person sees life in a different way …. ~ JAN 20, 2015

Getting this message last night made me smile.  So much that I asked the young person to copy it to me so that I could share it.  Why one may ask?  Because it is worth sharing.  On the news, we hear so much about life gone wrong.  Buildings burning down.  Floods.  Tragic accidents.  Lives lost.

Also because it was written by a young teen. She shared it on her FBook wall because she felt it was important and because she cared.  Feeling a sense of empathy and compassion is what we strive for in building relationships.  Our schools teach it.  Our homes and families try to instill it.  We never know it is working until we read the written stories and listen to the words as they are told. I hope that this young girl goes back next Tuesday night and I hope the older gentleman is there playing the piano.  #SayItWithSnowflakes

“So I was with my friends and we were chilling at Leigh square and I heard somebody playing piano… So I walked away from my friends, and was listening to this man playing piano. I snuck into Leigh square, sat down and was listening to him play piano for 40 minutes. He didn’t know I was there until I coughed, and he said, “oh hello there dear!” And I said, “hello, you are amazing at piano, how long have you been playing for?” He said, “since I was 8, so about 85 years!” Im like, “wow you’re Amazing!” And then we started talking, he told me that his wife of 57 years died today and they played piano together there every Tuesday and it was Tuesday and he wanted to honour her. He started to cry so I gave him a huge hug! Then I found out he was 93 years old, and battling cancer. He told me that his wife died from brain cancer, and he was currently fighting lung cancer. I gave him another hug, wished him all the best, and he said, “thank you for comforting me and taking the time out of your busy life to listen to me and talk with me. No body seems to do that anymore. Come watch me at the same time next Tuesday!” And I said that I will come watch him every single tuesday, and talk with him. Elders make me so happy. :’)”

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to LOVE IT when a young person sees life in a different way …. ~ JAN 20, 2015

  1. Angel says:

    Beautiful story. Thank you for sharing. I wish I could be there too to listen to listen to that man play piano. I’m so glad that young girl is going back to see him. I’m sure it will bring them both much joy. 🙂

    Like

  2. la Punisher says:

    Good words merle48, Yes this young lady has class and lots of it, ~ Thanx Carol for sharing the message

    Like

  3. merle48 says:

    It’s too bad that so much good is usually overshadowed by the bad, although there may be less of it. She sounds like a young girl with the wisdom of an adult (some) , and with a heart of gold. Thank you for sharing this.

    Like

  4. I know this young lady too and it really was lovely to see it when it came up in my FB newsfeed. I hope we will be able to share more and more of these stories on a daily basis.
    Thanks very much, Carol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

