What the man at airport security said!!

This totally caught me by surprise and actually made my night.  I was at one of the smaller airports in my area on my way to Calgary for the Young Women of Power Conference.  My bags were on their way through the scanner.  It was my turn to walk through the metal beeper machine.  I made it through without any beeps this time.  Yay!!

As I was waiting for my bags to go through the scanner, the feet were hurting from the heel spurs of my feet.  Was looking forward to sitting down.  There was no one waiting to go through the scanner.  The airport security man made eye contact.  He approached and said:

HIM: Are you who I thing you are?

ME: Yes, probably.

HIM: Thank you for doing what you are doing.  You are my HERO!!  I look up to you.

I was speechless for many seconds.  No one had ever said those words in that way.  I thanked him and gave him a pink Stay Strong bracelet.  He thanked me and put it on.

That just made my night.  Meeting random strangers who also have the courage to come up to me and say something wonderful.  It’s funny, I know the people who do recognize me and don’t say anything for whatever reason.  They usually end up looking down when eye contact is made and then they sneak another glance later.  

My words: It’s OK to say hello.  If there are no words, ask for a hug.  I give them FREE!! 

xoxo #sayitwithsnowflakes

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What the man at airport security said!!

  1. merle48 says:

    It’s good to get feedback because it renews your belief in what you’re doing and why. It’s easy to lose tempo when negative people or events creep in, but all it takes is one positive word or words of gratitude and recognition for what and all you do, and the contrary things melt away. Just proves how powerful positivity and goodness are.

    Like

  2. Nancy Bragg says:

    I completely agree with him!!!!!!!!! All your efforts! are because you LOVED Amanda! I hope you are taking care of Yourself!!! lots of sleep! healthy food! & vitamins.

    yours truly

    Nancy Bragg

    Date: Fri, 17 Apr 2015 07:41:09 +0000 To: survived_cancer@hotmail.com

    Like

  3. Angel says:

    Hi Carol ๐Ÿ™‚
    I LOVE reading about what your journeys are brining your way.
    Whether it be speaking to a large audience, or just taking the time to talk to someone
    who noticed who are you. You are changes lives and giving people hope every day!
    I think Amanda is putting these people in your path to connect with.
    It’s just so AMAZING to think of all the work you have done and all of the people you have touched. It still astounds me every time I read a new message from you.
    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚
    BIG HUGZ 2 U !!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

