Missing: Snowball Plant Found on May 3, 2015

TRUE STORY – After the KHP Walk today, I had to go to Costco to get some food for the two guys at home while I am in Ireland.  (Cringe at how much I spent)  Something in my head told me I needed to stop at Art Knapps Plantland.  I didn’t know why as I wasn’t planning to buy any plants for the garden yet.  But I went anyways.

When I walked up to the door, I saw a plant that looked familiar.  It was a Snowball Verbenum.  I have been looking for this plant to put in my garden since Amanda died. At the time when I asked (I was an emotional wreck), none could be located.  It was significant that today was the day that this Snowball plant showed up.

For me, it was a sign that Amanda was watching and saying ‘Thanks Mom’.  I bought the one plant (wanted to buy more and give them as gifts) but that will be for another day.   Shortly after Amanda died, I had received a phone call from a man named Robert.  He was heartbroken after he had heard about Amanda’s story and her death.  You see, he had been bullied also.  And by some of his own siblings.  Sibling bullying and harassment is quite common.

I went to visit Robert on my first trip to Toronto in August  2013.  He had wanted to me to visit him again but I couldn’t fit it in the schedule in October 2013 which was unfortunate because Robert ended up dying by suicide in November 2013, close to Amanda’s birthday.  There is private story behind this.  When Robert showed me his home, one of the most important things to him was the snowball tree in the backyard that his mother had planted many years back.  He was proud of the tree and how it had snowballs on it for both Amanda and his mom.  This is where I learned that the tree existed and with help from my online friends, we found out through the photo what the name of the plant was.

What a great day today ended up being.  The #Walk So Kids Can Talk with Kids Help Phone that Amanda’s Legacy participated in and ended up gathering oved $3600 in donations.   We had teams walking in Victoria, Vancouver, Calgary, St Catherines and London, Ontario.   #happyhappy

Love you Amanda.  You were with us and me today for sure.  xoxo

   
       

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Missing: Snowball Plant Found on May 3, 2015

  1. Hamsi says:

    Even after 3 years, it is very sad to think about Amanda…and now Robert’s story makes me sad as well. Talking about them keeps their memory alive. Hope the snowball plant grows and flourishes, Carol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

