Just another day —> chocolate vs lemons

It’s another day gone past.  For me, I am on my last trip of a 6 week journey.  Besides coming home and venturing to work despite any jet lag and making sure my fridge is stocked for my boys at home, I have been on a whirlwind journey of making sure that the message of internet safety, child safety, cyberbullying, mental health and a parents love for their child is heard and embraced.  In the past few months, I have been to the following places:  Calgary, Edmonton, Phoenix, Montreal, Toronto (x2), Winnipeg, New Jersey, New York and Dublin, Ireland.  What has stayed with me is that no matter where I go, there appears to be problems surrounding internet safety, mental health and young people.  I have been blessed to meet some wonderful people in my travels who continue to work hard to make sure that awareness and education are on the forefront.

One of the beautiful people I have met is Leah Parsons, who is the mother of Rehtaeh Parsons.  Rehtaeh was 17 when she died by suicide in April of 2013.  Leah and I have had many opportunities to meet and we speak often.  We only wished that we sometimes lived closer to each other (Halifax and Vancouver couldn’t be any further apart), so that we could share our thoughts face to face or even that odd glass of white grape juice and tell wonderful and funny stories about our children.  But if we can’t be together in person, a positive of the internet is that it allows us to still be friends and chat.

Leah wrote a blog today on her Facebook that sums up all the thoughts of a ‘Bereaved Parent’ on the Angel Rehtaeh Facebook.   I think she, I and others have written this kind of post before and there seems to always be a need to bring it back.  Here is Leah’s post for today. Bless her and all the other parents who are in that club of the ‘bereaved’.  Tomorrow, I am meeting with Rick Falcon who is a bereaved parent with the loss of  his daughter Adriana Falcon – Justice for Adriana Facebook.

IMG_3067

Screenshot 2015-05-27 16.36.18

Screenshot 2015-05-27 16.36.28

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just another day —> chocolate vs lemons

  1. merle48 says:

    Sometimes a hug says it all. Carol, you are not on a ‘six week journey—this journey you are on is infinite, and will only empower you more as time goes by. Thank you Leah for sharing this for all of us who feel awkward with our words of condolence and concern.

    Like

Leave a Reply

