xoxo Remembering Amanda (always) xoxo

Today was a particularly bittersweet day.  What I am going to explain here might make some shake their head at me but for those that have lost a loved one (epecially a child – there is no age limitation), they will ‘get it’.  It’s that damn club that we belong.  And in that club, we have an understanding.   At dinner tonight, I said to Rob (my beloved partner) who is always there to listen to my stories whether they are sad, funny, frustrated or silly.  I said to him ‘Does it ever feel like Amanda being gone is just a dream and that we will wake up and it will be different?’   My answer today was YES and so was his.

IMG_2391

Today it felt like it was someone else’s story.   Too many things going on.  Newly found lost relatives.  Finding gutter cleaners for my other mother.  Talking to a mom last night who lost her son 8 months ago and making her feel better.  A teddy bear for her to hug is on its way soon.

Screenshot 2015-06-19 00.12.34

The bigger surprise today was seeing the article below in the media.  Todd Schobel who is the founder of the STOPiT app has become a close and dear friend.  I would say he is so protective of me and Amanda (her legacy) that I just feel so well looked after.  Todd’s family and also his extended family (plus workplace) have also opened their arms and their hearts to me.  I look forward to seeing them again in August when I adventure back to New York.

http://www.fastcompany.com/3047564/lessons-learned/derek-jeters-foundation-takes-a-stand-against-cyberbullying

Screenshot 2015-06-19 00.02.36

The questions and momentum is already starting for Light Up Purple 2015.  It would only be nice if the federal government of Canada would proclaim October 10th as World Mental Health Day.  Other days can be proclaimed in Canada (eg – World Autism Day) so why can’t WMHDay.  It is as important as other days.

My message of the day:  “Thank you to everyone who is taking the time to make a difference in this world.  Without voices speaking up for those that are silent, we wouldn’t be able to make the changes needed.”

Screenshot 2015-06-19 00.23.02

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

