UBC Alumni – Education 100 – 2015/16

Surprised … honoured … thankful… blessed!!!

Screenshot 2015-09-02 21.49.38

Yes, I think Amanda would be proud of her mom.  When I look at the other 99 recognized recipients and their achievements, I think to myself “Wow”!  In my minds eye, I am just doing my job as a mom.

Over the past few weeks, I have spoken to many parents who have lost their child way too soon.  Some were to suicide, some to death by the hands of others.  These kids are now the voice of the silent.  Who can talk for them?  All of us.

http://educ.ubc.ca/alumni-supporters/year-of-alumni/educations-100/

Screenshot 2015-09-02 21.18.42

I am at a loss for words at this time of year.  Kids are getting ready to go back to school.  The excitement of it all.  Amanda would have graduated last June and would have hopefully gone on to college to start working on a career. She wanted hair design and/or she wanted to do something with cooking.  All that is now a dream as sad as it is.  I do think that at times, I block out her death so I don’t have to think about it. Then reality hits when I see her photo and realize that the in real life, she is gone.

I stand both ‘proud and sad’ in keeping Amanda’s dream alive with the all the support and love of others. Without them, we could follow the ‘DREAM OF HELPING KIDS’.

Screenshot 2015-09-02 21.47.00

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to UBC Alumni – Education 100 – 2015/16

  1. merle48 says:

    You will never stop mourning the loss of your daughter, but you have been able to speak about why you forge ahead as you do.
    But that’s only part of why you do it. You were lead to this “work” because of the way you lost Amanda, and your motivation is real as you continue enlightening others, yet your human nature is to break from it all. Your honesty is commendable and who could fault you after how much awareness you’ve brought forward regarding bullying and mental illness. Whatever you do is okay if it helps you. No one can ever really know what you need but you. Stay Strong!

    Like

Leave a Reply

