Another heartfelt story …

Click to watch video.

screenshot-2017-01-31-23-31-47

Last weekend I was at Costco shopping.  As I wandered the clothing area, I was overhearing a conversation with someone who was explaining what a Ted Talk was -“A short speech about something the person is passionate about.”

I had to chuckle in my thoughts as in preparing for my TedxTalk last spring, it was one of the stressful things I have had to do in my life.  As I walked past this person, I did stop and share that with her.  I shared who I was and where she could find my TedxTalk.   She promised she would find and watch it.

Yesterday,  got this message on my Facebook …

“Hi Carol, I want to thank you for the other day in Costco, when you were in the clothing section and overheard me talking about the Ted Talks and mentioned you had given one.  I didn’t get at the time [my apologies] that your beautiful daughter had passed and that she had been the victim of such online abuse. My heart goes out to all of you. I watched the TedTalk you gave and it was very powerful, I got tears from your words. I can so relate to the four walls you spoke of and now realize, that I too have been living within those 4 same walls. As you mentioned each one, I knew that it also played a powerful role in my life. Thank you for sharing them, I needed someone to say them so I could really hear them and know they were true for me; and have in affect ruled my life. I also watched Amanda’s video and the ones done by the Fifth Estate. All very powerful and such an eye opener. I think most people are unaware of the extent of the abuse and trolling being done online and how deeply it affects both the young and old. You said Amanda wanted to be famous, now she is, people are aware of her and her journey and steps are being done to make changes so others never have to live through what she did. What an angel you have with you. She is making a difference and will continue to make a difference. Much love and heart hugs.”

I then asked her if I could share her message and thoughts on my blog and she said  “Yes, I very much give you permission to use my words. I so agree, with all the strife and turmoil in the world, we all need to know that within us all is goodness. Just like the man who trolled you and then by your response asking him to share his story, his life changed. You listened and you encouraged.How awesome.”

I love sharing the stories of others because I feel it gives #inspiration and #hope to others that this world can be a better place.  So when you are out and about today, #MakeTodayPositive by doing something wonderful for someone else.  That was one of Amanda’s virtues as she always wanted to feed the animals, take in stray pets and give lots to the Toy Bank and the Food Bank whenever she could.

If we can learn from the goodness of others, we can certainly share and #PayItForward on and on.  We all may have personal adversities but with #hope and #caring, we can overcome!!

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

