Sharing thoughts from one mom to another ….

This afternoon before going out for dinner, my landline rang. I never ever answer it but let it go to voicemail. But today, I answered it. I heard this at the other end …. “This might be weird but are you the mom of Amanda Todd?”

I said ‘yes’ and the voice went on to say she has never done anything such as this. She had recently searched BULLYING online and Amanda’s name and video came up. She watched the video and then read some of the articles and stories. She felt so connected that she went in search of a way to contact me. 

She was both excited and amazed she was actually speaking to me. As a mom, she felt the loss. As a mom whose 10 year old son had been bullied, she felt even more devastated. 

She shared that she one day hoped to meet me. That was was proud of me standing up for others. That she wanted to keep in contact. She also wanted me to know about herself and her son. 

I found it all amazing. She wasn’t a local parent but someone from Virginia. To realize how far reaching Amanda’s story is and how it still travels. 

I feel in my heart that Amanda continues to have a part in this. I thanked this mom for reaching out. Told her it was a wonderful gesture and to keep talking and sharing with her son about the virtues of life and how to stay safe online. 

This is one of the many endearing and inspiring stories this week I will be sharing. There are so many more.

About Carol Todd

Being the mother of Amanda Todd has lead me on this journey shortly after Amanda's death on October 10, 2012. Amanda's prolific You Tube video has been viewed over 33 million times. Through this video, there has been an increased awareness about cyberbullying, social media safety and mental health. www.amandatoddlegacy.org
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

